Discussion Board

Invalid Application...

Hello,

I have created a very simple application that runs on an emulator but not on the phone, a Nokia 6300 (I keep getting "Invalid application, delete?").
    I first thought it was because my mobile didn't support MIDP 2.1, I removed those libs but that didn't help, so I downloaded an old SDK (S40_SDK_3rd_Edition_Feature_Pack_2) which only supports MIDP 2.0, but I still have the same problem. It runs on the emulator (based on the Xpress music, a quite old phone).
    I'm a newbie in Java ME and I don't know Eclipse well. I've read some posts talking about modifying the manifest but I don't have anything like that in Eclipse (it seems to be automatically generated, or it just isn't there? At least I can see META-INF/MANIFEST.MFPK in the binary .jar file).

I am using Eclipse with EclipseME. If I could run even a simple "Hello world" on that phone I would be happy...

Here are the jar and jad files: http://www.2shared.com/file/3406177/.../deployed.html

Thanks in advance anyone who can help me. I'm desperate

Super Contributor

Re: Invalid Application...

Hi and welcome to the Java discussion board.

Not that I want to intrude as I myself am very inexperienced in Java development, but I have tested a few applications (although on an N95, but with MIDP 2.0 and CLDC 1.1, like the 6300 has) with Netbeans IDE mobility pack and they worked. Among those apps were very simple ones like Hello World and displaying an image. I recommend Netbeans for developing Java apps.

EDIT: Just noticed this thread, in which the latest post might have the solution.
    Last edited by bogdan.galiceanu; 2008-06-08 at 18:43.

Super Contributor

Hi Brunni! Welcome to Nokia Developer Discussion Boards!!

Atleast in my quick check on your MIDlet, MIDlet-<n> parameter in JAD and Manifest files are missing.

MIDlet-<n> :