×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    75

    Activating a view

    Hi, I m activating a view in the user defined function in AppUI class. Here goes the code
    void CGES_SIP_GUIAppUi::display_UI(const char* aString1)
    {
    char a[5][20] = {"Ringing","Calling","Connected"};
    if(strcmp(aString1,a[0])== 0)
    ActivateLocalViewL( TUid::Uid( EGES_SIP_GUIContainer2ViewId ) );
    else if(strcmp(aString1,a[1])== 0)
    ActivateLocalViewL( TUid::Uid( EGES_SIP_GUIContainer3ViewId ) );
    else if(strcmp(aString1,a[2]) == 0)
    ActivateLocalViewL( TUid::Uid( EGES_SIP_GUIContainer4ViewId ) );

    }
    I m sure their is no problem with ActivateLocalViewL() and the id i pass, because it works fine if add the same sentence anywhere in the default function i.e the view gets activated. I think ter is problem in the way of calling that sentence in user-defined function.When i debug it is throwing KERN-EXEC3 at this sentence.
    Plz help in resolving this issue.

    BR,
    Saritha

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Tampere
    Posts
    370

    Lightbulb Re: Activating a view

    Hi,

    You may want to check, the CountComponentControls() and ComponentControl(). What are they returning.

    You can set break points in your container to check at what line in container KernExec occurs.

    Regards
    Regards

    - MVP
    "Dare To Dream" - A.P.J.Kalam

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,750

    Re: Activating a view

    If your code can be executed in the emulator, use the debugger.

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    75

    Re: Activating a view

    Hi mrudulpen, I m getting panic in ActivateLocalViewL() function, only if i call this in the user-defined function which is derived from appui,the code for which i showed below. If i call the same sentence from any function like ConstructL(), it works fine.

    BR,
    Saritha

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    75

    Re: Activating a view

    Hi wizard_hu_, I m getting this panic on the emulator.

    BR,
    Saritha

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,750

    Re: Activating a view

    That is OK, but if you Debug the code (so press the tiny green bug icon in Carbide, instead of the "Play" button which is actually Run), and have Just-In-Time debugging enabled (in the emulator properties), the debugger is going to break into your code when the panic occurs, so you can simply check in the call stack, and ess what is actually going on.

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    285

    Re: Activating a view

    The following might be the reasons for the KERN-EXEC 3 crash.
    * you are passing a NULL char String while calling the function.

    * You might have Defined the View Ids , however value returned by Id() method in one of the views might not match with the Ids used in the display_UI method.

    Regards
    Shashi Kiran G M

Similar Threads

  1. Multi View problem
    By hendrawan.ashari in forum Symbian
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-02-27, 06:02
  2. Go back to caller view...
    By VinodRaut in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-05-11, 14:22
  3. View changing
    By ckt in forum Symbian
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007-02-22, 13:02
  4. Error activating a setting view
    By Bill_Murray in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-02-23, 08:01
  5. Activating View in Container
    By mmfcassius in forum Symbian
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2004-10-26, 11:51

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×