Discussion Board

7710 SDK is not available under VS2003 with carbide.vs or nokia developer suite 1.1

Hi all,

This is my first attempt at developing on a symbian platform since I worked on a Psion Series 5! Should be fun!

To be difficult I'm trying to develop an application for my Nokia 7710. I must say I love this phone. I wish Nokia had continued the platform. It may be buggy and old but I've not yet seen a phone that I'd be happy to let replace my old brick. Bring on touch screen S60 and we'll talk!

I'm having a problem using the Nokia 7710 SDK released start of 2005. I have Visual Studio 2003 installed and I've tried using Carbide.vs 2.0.2 and Nokia Developer Suite 1.1 (I'm running VMWare so snapshotting has been helpful)

Whenever I am presented with an opportunity to enable/disable an SDK I'm always told that the "NOKIA_7710" SDK is "<not available>". I've seen a few people talk about what not available means and I understand that it means the SDK has been found but it is not designed for this platform. Presumably this means it is not designed VisualStudio2003 but for CodeWarrior?

Thing is I've noticed that there is only one download for the 7710 SDK that claims to be fore CW, Borland and VS. Infact when installing the SDK one of the options (under custom install) is Visual Studio Tools? So why can't NDS or Carbide.vs see it?

I know the SDK technically works. If I use the "application wizzard" that came with the SDK to create a project, not only can I open the project in VS but when I hit the "run" button (and entered a path to the emulator) it opens and runs! Fantastic..

Problem is, without the SDK working with NDS/Carbide I can't import and existing package.. Say for example the "examples" that come with the SDK!!!