×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    159

    Change browser access point progrematically

    Hi,

    I wonder if there's a way to change the browser's default access point progrematically.

    Note that I'm not looking for a way to launch a browser instance using a specific access point nor to use an embedded browser control.

    Thanks,
    Nadav

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    123

    Re: Change browser access point progrematically

    Hi,

    Take a look at browseruisdkcrkeys.h from S60 3.2 SDK. There are KBrowserAccessPointSelectionMode and KBrowserDefaultAccessPoint cenrep keys that you can use to change default access point of browser.

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    159

    Re: Change browser access point progrematically

    Quote Originally Posted by juhanak View Post
    Hi,

    Take a look at browseruisdkcrkeys.h from S60 3.2 SDK. There are KBrowserAccessPointSelectionMode and KBrowserDefaultAccessPoint cenrep keys that you can use to change default access point of browser.
    Thanks a lot . That's a huge leap forward for me. Just to note for other readers of this post: The class to use is CRepository.

    Thanks again,
    Nadav

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    159

    Re: Change browser access point progrematically

    Quote Originally Posted by juhanak View Post
    Hi,

    Take a look at browseruisdkcrkeys.h from S60 3.2 SDK. There are KBrowserAccessPointSelectionMode and KBrowserDefaultAccessPoint cenrep keys that you can use to change default access point of browser.
    It works perfectly in 3rd Ed FP1 (N95), but with 3rd Ed (E65) only the KBrowserAccessPointSelectionMode seem to have an effect.
    In 3rd Ed it is possible to set and get KBrowserDefaultAccessPoint, but it doesn't seem to have any effect.

    Is there a different way for 3rd Ed?

    My code:

    Code:
    CRepository  * rep = CRepository::NewL( KCRUidBrowser );
    CleanupStack::PushL( rep );
    
    User::LeaveIfError( rep->Set( KBrowserAccessPointSelectionMode, aMode ) );
    
    if ( aMode == 0 /*specific*/ )
    	User::LeaveIfError( rep->Set( KBrowserDefaultAccessPoint, aIap ) );
    
    CleanupStack::PopAndDestroy( rep );
    Thanks,
    Nadav

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1

    Re: Change browser access point progrematically

    Hey there.

    how do I change the browser settings programmatically on S60 3rd ed FP2 devices.
    Any help is greatly appreciable!!!

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    6

    Re: Change browser access point progrematically

    Hi,

    You can change default access point of device browser with below code

    CRepository* cenrep = CRepository::NewLC(KCRUidBrowser);
    cenrep->Set(KBrowserAccessPointSelectionMode, 2); // 2 stands for EBrowserCenRepApSelModeDestination
    cenrep->Set(KBrowserNGDefaultSnapId, 1);

    This will set internet as default access point.

    To again set the access point as "Always ask",
    cenrep->Set(KBrowserAccessPointSelectionMode, 1); // 1 stands for EBrowserCenRepApSelModeAlwaysAsk

    This requires WriteDeviceData capability.

    Regards,
    Ashish

Similar Threads

  1. Connecting J2ME application to Internet using WAP access point?
    By khurshed79 in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2012-09-12, 09:53
  2. Access point selection panics
    By tote_b5 in forum Symbian
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 2009-01-25, 22:09
  3. select access point query when using browser control
    By rajani_sp1 in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2008-03-17, 07:16
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-08-02, 13:22
  5. setting access point for tcp/ip connection on 7650
    By suckho in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2003-11-13, 10:28

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×