Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Old unsigned sis and new Symbian Signed

I'm quite new to 3rd edition platform. The question I have is: how do I install sis files with PyS60 modules that require some caps if the sis file was created before the Symbian Signed change.

As far as I understand it, before the change, one created his own developer certificate and it was enough for him to sign a sis file for his phone. Right now our only option is the Open Signed Online which, unless the UID is from a testrange, would send a signed sis file only to the owner of the UID.

For example, right now I'm trying to make the keypress module to work on my N73. On cyke64's web site I found the following file:
    keypress102_unsigned_dev_certfree.sis

It won't install directly, the phone says something about invalid or no longer valid certificate. How do I install it then? The only option that I came with was to extract all the files and use ensymble with its simplesis command. This way I could specify a testrange UID. Of course it didn't install directly again because of caps problem. However, thanks to the testrange UID I was able to sign it usign Open Signed Online. This helped, but not fully. As soon as I try to call the simulate_key function, Python shuts down without any error (even in try...except).

Could someone explain me how do you do it?

-- ADDED --
    I've tried making my key and cert using makekeys and then sign the sis using signsis but the phone still whine about missing caps.
    Last edited by y.a.k; 2008-07-01 at 03:16.

Super Contributor

Re: Old unsigned sis and new Symbian Signed

Quote Originally Posted by y.a.k View Post
    I'm quite new to 3rd edition platform. The question I have is: how do I install sis files with PyS60 modules that require some caps if the sis file was created before the Symbian Signed change.