Discussion Board

Post Basic Concepts for Mobile Application Development

Hi to all,

I am new to mobile application.So I want to discuss some confusions about mobile application development

1.Why we need to install ActivePerl before installation of SDK?
    2.Why we required to install Java Run Time befor installation of SDK?

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: Basic Concepts for Mobile Application Development

Quote Originally Posted by Faisal Rehman View Post
    1.Why we need to install ActivePerl before installation of SDK?
    You do not need. You need to install some suitable Perl before you plan to actually use the SDK. Because it is full of Perl scripts, you can not compile/build any projects without having Perl. And the ActivePerl version 5.6.1 635 (but 638 also works in practice) is important, because otherwise (with 5.8.x or 5.10.x) you will get various error messages instead of building.
    2.Why we required to install Java Run Time befor installation of SDK?
    You do not need. You need to install a suitable JRE (slightly varies between SDK-s), if you want to access the configuration panel of the emulator. Because it is written in Java.

SDK's build chain is driven by perl scripts so in order to build your applications you need Active Perl installed. Make sure to read SDK's release notes as not all Active Perl releases are supported.

The SDK might check if Active Perl is present and refuse the installation otherwise, that is why you should install Perl first.

The SDK also uses some tools which have been written in Java therefore you need the JRE. As far as I remember it can be installed after the SDK although I doubt that there are computers without an already installed JRE ... Any recent JRE will work, but see the link below for more info about tools and one JRE related known issue.
    -- Lucian

If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite