×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    30

    draw a line on a VideoCamera canvas

    Sir.
    I have developed a bar-code reader application.
    My problem is to display a line over the canvas where the video,
    is played (view finder) and the image is to be captured.
    I want the user to set the bar code on focus to the lines offset, so that the reading comes accurately(i.e. user can see the line and focus the required area over it which is the beginning of the Bar-code on the view finder ).


    More Over I have seen the menu (Sony Ericsson's) default camera view finder, they have icons placed on the screen when you click on the settings.

    Is it possible to achieve such thing.
    Regards
    and thanks in advance
    Last edited by abhsax1978@hotmail.com; 2008-07-14 at 08:26.

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,192

    Re: draw a line on a VideoCamera canvas

    Are you talking about a Java MIDlet or something else?

    If you are talking about Java ME, then the only option is to simulate the viewfinder by taking snapshots, displaying those snapshots and drawing the line on top of those images. (proble in this approach is that you will not likely achieve very smooth viewfinder as the time required for each snapshot is likely too long)

    Hartti

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    30

    Unhappy Re: draw a line on a VideoCamera canvas

    It is the MID-let I am talking about.
    I want to show two parallel lines, where exactly in between,the bar code on the paper is to be positioned. Bar code should appear between these lines in the video(view finder) and not the snapshot.
    The user should know where should his Bar-Code be to get accurate results.
    I have achieved this through drawing these lines on a canvas, and after user clicks on it, he is taken to the view-Finder canvas, where he now know, where to position the bar-code on the screen.
    ----------------
    but seriously they are doing it on the Sony-Ericsson phones
    How?
    Regards

Similar Threads

  1. i cant build helloworld project
    By akhin in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-12-22, 12:38
  2. Error while making sis file
    By lalitjadiya in forum Symbian
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2008-05-20, 17:18
  3. carbidec++ helloworld project problem
    By akhin in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-03-11, 12:40
  4. carbide build problem help please
    By berkcekisbas in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-09-26, 19:41

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •