×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4

    [moved] Problem with starting application

    I can't find any applications on my N95.

    For example, I have vBoy installed on my memory card, when I connect my laptop with mass storage mode, I can see a file at

    e:\sys\bin\vboy.exe

    When I disconnect from the laptop and use a language such as python or Y-browser to search the phone, the file doesn't exist. I can't find how to start the application through a program.

    Please help, I can't find where any of my installed apps are.

    paintstripper

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,167

    Re: Problem with starting application

    please read some docs on the platform security, escpecially about data caging.

    Basically some folders are protected and access to them is restricted in the device.

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Deva, Romania
    Posts
    3,471

    Re: Problem with starting application

    Quote Originally Posted by paintstripper View Post
    e:\sys\bin\vboy.exe
    From my experience with this matter, I'd say you can find the .exe files in z:\\system\\apps.

    For opening an application with Python, see this article.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: Problem with starting application

    There are no .exe files in the z:\system\apps folder. There are only 4 folders,
    Barcode reader
    dmmcopy
    dynbase
    and Ping

    None of them have any .exe files!
    What do I do?

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Deva, Romania
    Posts
    3,471

    Re: Problem with starting application

    Have you tried the code in the article? Indeed the exe files aren't shown but trust me, they're there .

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Deva, Romania
    Posts
    3,471

    Re: Problem with starting application

    And here's an example of how you can see the applications that you can start with Python. Note that this isn't the exact solution, as finding the names of the exe files is a bit ambiguous (at least for me ).

    Code:
    import os, e32, appuifw
    
    
    #Make an emptry list, which will be populated with the names of the exe
    l=[]
    
    for f in os.listdir("Z:\\resource\\apps"):
    	if(f.endswith(".mif") and not f.endswith("_aif.mif")):
    		l.append(unicode(f[0:len(f)-4]))
    
    #Show a list with the found exe
    i=appuifw.selection_list(l)
    
    #Start the selected app
    e32.start_exe("z:\\system\\apps\\"+l[i]+".exe",'',1)

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: Problem with starting application

    ok, that works, I should be able to play around with that code.

    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,167

    Re: Problem with starting application

    With pre-3rd edition you had application usually in system apps folder, though as far as I remember you could run executable from any folder, thus you needed to specify the whole path.

    With 3rd edition executables are in sys/bin, which is restricted access folder, and if you run the apps with RApalsSession or other means, you need to only specify the name & extension without path.

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    8,344

    Re: [moved] Problem with starting application

    Quote Originally Posted by paintstripper View Post
    I can't find any applications on my N95.

    For example, I have vBoy installed on my memory card, when I connect my laptop with mass storage mode, I can see a file at

    e:\sys\bin\vboy.exe
    ....
    Quote Originally Posted by bogdan.galiceanu View Post
    From my experience with this matter, I'd say you can find the .exe files in z:\\system\\apps.
    As Jukka already said, for S60 3rd edition and onwards, executable reside into sys\\bin folder. I am surprised how could you able to find them in z:\\system\\apps.?

    Quote Originally Posted by paintstripper View Post
    ok, that works, I should be able to play around with that code.
    I am quite lost here. paintstripper is claiming that your code works. I do not understand why and how.

    Kiran.
    Nokia Developer Wiki Moderation team

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: [moved] Problem with starting application

    I found the application in e:\\resource\\apps and got it working from there, not quite sure why it was in there, but it works.

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Deva, Romania
    Posts
    3,471

    Re: [moved] Problem with starting application

    Quote Originally Posted by paintstripper View Post
    I found the application in e:\\resource\\apps and got it working from there, not quite sure why it was in there, but it works.
    I pointed you to where the default applications (the ones that come with the phone) are. The ones that are installed by the user are in C:\\resource\\apps or E:\\resource\\apps, depending on whether you installed them on the phone or the memory card.

  12. #12
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,167

    Re: [moved] Problem with starting application

    Quote Originally Posted by bogdan.galiceanu View Post
    I pointed you to where the default applications (the ones that come with the phone) are. The ones that are installed by the user are in C:\\resource\\apps or E:\\resource\\apps, depending on whether you installed them on the phone or the memory card.
    Resource files, as well as images could be there, but executables are under sys/bin, and if they are in any other place, they will not be executed.

  13. #13
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Deva, Romania
    Posts
    3,471

    Re: [moved] Problem with starting application

    Quote Originally Posted by symbianyucca View Post
    Resource files, as well as images could be there, but executables are under sys/bin, and if they are in any other place, they will not be executed.
    I'm probably misunderstanding this, but according to experiments they work and are in C:\system\apps (or E or Z, depending on the apps). I tried this:
    Code:
    import e32
    
    e32.start_exe("c:\\system\\apps\\HandyTaskman.exe",'',1)
    and Handy Taskman application started.

    Indeed the resource files (.mif files that I used to get the names of the exe) are in C:\resource\apps.

    Again, I believe you're right as I don't have knowledge of these things, but it seems my solutions is working for some reason.

  14. #14
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    8,344

    Re: [moved] Problem with starting application

    Quote Originally Posted by bogdan.galiceanu View Post
    I'm probably misunderstanding this, but according to experiments they work and are in C:\system\apps (or E or Z, depending on the apps). I tried this:
    Code:
    import e32
    
    e32.start_exe("c:\\system\\apps\\HandyTaskman.exe",'',1)
    and Handy Taskman application started.

    Indeed the resource files (.mif files that I used to get the names of the exe) are in C:\resource\apps.

    Again, I believe you're right as I don't have knowledge of these things, but it seems my solutions is working for some reason.
    Strange. Can it happen that your extension do not mind whatever path is set? It just search given file and start it? Because executables reside in Sys//bin and can be launched from there.

    I have just installed Handy Taskman and it is apparently in Sys//bin.

    Please give me direct link to the Handy TaskMan you are playing with. I want to check the same.

    Kiran.
    Nokia Developer Wiki Moderation team

  15. #15
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Deva, Romania
    Posts
    3,471

    Re: [moved] Problem with starting application

    Quote Originally Posted by kiran10182 View Post
    Strange. Can it happen that your extension do not mind whatever path is set? It just search given file and start it? Because executables reside in Sys//bin and can be launched from there.

    I have just installed Handy Taskman and it is apparently in Sys//bin.

    Please give me direct link to the Handy TaskMan you are playing with. I want to check the same.

    Kiran.
    No need to bother, Kiran. You and Jukka were right all along.
    I just tried
    Code:
    import e32
    
    e32.start_exe("c:\\sys\\bin\\HandyTaskman.exe",'',1)
    and it worked just the same. Then I tried c:\\HandyTaskman.exe and it worked. So you found the answer: for some reason it just starts the exe regardless of the path that is specified.

Similar Threads

  1. starting application without clicking on icon
    By nabaparna in forum Symbian
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-06-05, 12:59
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-05-22, 06:25
  3. Main Problem with Application Entrypoint
    By Rozik in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-03-28, 19:34
  4. Problem in uninstaller(Removing application)...
    By furqankamani in forum Symbian
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-03-07, 14:02
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-01-17, 06:12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×