×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2

    How to change application icon displayed on the menu (urgent)?

    Hi all,

    My question is simple: How do I change application icon that is
    displayed on the menu? (when we press menu button). That means my
    application is already installed but not yet running. So I could
    not use run-time code to achieve this. Do I need to put something
    in my .pkg or .mmp or .rss file? Do I have to use separate .mbm
    file? (I already have one). This is quite urgent for me, so if
    anyone knows the answer please post it.

    Thanks In Advance.

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    68

    RE: How to change application icon displayed on the menu (urgent)?

    You application gets the default icon if you do not specify one. You can, however, specify an icon by using a AIF file. Type AIF into the help file search mechanism, and it should tell you everything you need to know.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    31

    Re: How to change application icon displayed on the menu (urgent)?

    HI '
    I SEE THE HELP . I DONE WHICH GIVEN IN HELP BUT

    xyz.aifdef is not saved it shows an error

    thanks

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    74

    Re: How to change application icon displayed on the menu (urgent)?

    Just change the following line in ur .rss file
    change the name of the image (imagename.mbm)
    To search for the images , search from the windows in tht search .mbm files, u'l get list of .mbm select one file and then put name of tht file in below code.

    icon_file = "\\resource\\apps\\muiu.mbm";

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hyderabad,India
    Posts
    1,156

    Re: How to change application icon displayed on the menu (urgent)?

    hi,
    i had tried what Jignasha had told, tried to give the path of the mbm file which is to be displayed on the menu. but i dont get it.. I have come across many posts saying that it doesnt work. were any one of u sucessfull in getting a menu icon.
    Regards
    Priju

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    74

    Re: How to change application icon displayed on the menu (urgent)?

    Quote Originally Posted by jignasha View Post
    Just change the following line in ur .rss file
    change the name of the image (imagename.mbm)
    To search for the images , search from the windows in tht search .mbm files, u'l get list of .mbm select one file and then put name of tht file in below code.

    icon_file = "\\resource\\apps\\muiu.mbm";
    I applied this code, why some app can see that icon but others can't?

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    Re: How to change application icon displayed on the menu (urgent)?

    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    74

    Re: How to change application icon displayed on the menu (urgent)?

    Quote Originally Posted by tamhanna View Post
    I followed these steps to review what i did, but still not work

  9. #9
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    74

    Re: How to change application icon displayed on the menu (urgent)?

    Quote Originally Posted by vietdoor View Post
    I followed these steps to review what i did, but still not work
    If i tried to create another new project and name to my old project name, it will not display my new icon, but i create another new project with the name different to my old project name, it work well.

    We need to clean anything on my pc as generated files ... ?

  10. #10
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    Re: How to change application icon displayed on the menu (urgent)?

    Probably. Try to do a make clean all via the menu, AND recompile for the emulator and the device.

    Plus, restart the device a few times!
    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×