×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    76

    How can i reboot device?

    Hi,
    I am developing an application for Symbian s60 3rd FP1. i need to reboot the device at some condition. can some one help me how can i programmatically reboot device.

    thanx a lot

    waiting for ur reponse.

    With Best Regards

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    3,644

    Re: How can i reboot device?

    The question is why you need to reboot the device?
    Download Symbian OS now! [url]http://developer.symbian.org[/url]

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,166

    Re: How can i reboot device?

    tell the user to remove battery and to press start button after putting the battery back.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    1,503

    Thumbs up Re: How can i reboot device?

    hi read this thread hope this will help u.

    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...d.php?t=118414
    Regards,
    Amit


    ****"Putting a Smile on other's faces is the essence of true Happiness"****

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    3,644

    Re: How can i reboot device?

    Pulling out the battery is generally a bad idea in that it can corrupt various things including the contacts database. I'm not saying it should not happen, its just one of the less predicatble solutions, especially when there are API's to reboot the phone under partnering requests.

    The problem is finding suitable use cases
    Download Symbian OS now! [url]http://developer.symbian.org[/url]

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: How can i reboot device?

    Hi,

    AS the simulating END key help to reboot the phone but its not a feasible solution if phone rebooting help you out you can view following link
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    88

    Question Re: How can i reboot device?

    Is there a way to restart....the currently running application?

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: How can i reboot device?

    Quote Originally Posted by scc View Post
    Is there a way to restart....the currently running application?
    Hi,

    I suppose you need to create your own watch dog kind of application who kill your application and launch it again.
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,692

    Re: How can i reboot device?

    Quote Originally Posted by scc View Post
    Is there a way to restart....the currently running application?
    Your long running one? You can simply start a process, which waits for your main app to shut down, and restart it. It needs simple synchronization, RProcess::Rendezvous and RProcess::Logon can do the job:
    - main app: newprocess.Create, pass RProcess::Id() (so itself) as command-line argument, newprocess.Rendezvous, newprocess.Resume, waits for rendezvous, termintes
    - new app: gets argument, mainprocess.Open, mainprocess.Logon, RProcess::Rendezvous, waits for the other process to die, and restarts it.

    Unfortunately it is still possible that some server dies (like c32exe.exe in your emulator log), and that can not be cured via restarting your own process...

  10. #10
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    76

    Re: How can i reboot device?

    Well, there is no solution in all the comments. please someone tell me that how can i programmatically switch off the device.
    thanks.

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: How can i reboot device?


Similar Threads

  1. Unable to receive data from Bluetooth Device Via RFComm
    By kctan in forum Bluetooth Technology
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-06-15, 15:23
  2. What we want is a basic function device.
    By hendrysong in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-06-06, 04:02
  3. Funambol DM server, E62 and 9500 device manager app
    By rickmorris in forum OMA DM/DS/CP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-02-26, 05:36
  4. Installing Ethernet Plugin on a second device
    By chenfi in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-12-19, 11:40
  5. Bluetooth Security: What exactly is an untrusted device?
    By rahulmcs in forum Bluetooth Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-12-02, 06:26

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×