Discussion Board

How to add a nokia 7650 emulator to WTK

Hi all,
    I am new to J2ME,can any one of you kindly help me?
    I have tried a simple MIDP application with Wireless Tool Kit(WTK),in that I don't find a nokia emulator,I want to add Nokia 7650 Emulator into WTK,first of all Is it possible to add? If yes where can I download the Nokia 7650 Emulator and how to add it to WTK?
    Thanks in advance
    Vinay

RE: How to add a nokia 7650 emulator to WTK

Hi.
    First you have to download the Nokia Developer's Suite for J2ME?,
    from Forum Nokia >>> Java >>> Tools and SDKs >>> J2ME MIDP Tools. You can then download and install the proper emulator (the "kind-of-7650" emulator is the Nokia Series 60 Concept Beta SDK, downloadable from the same location.
    Now you can build and run your MIDlets from Nokia's development environment. If you want to use the Series 60 emulator on WTK, after having it installed on your machine, copy the folder
    [NOKIA_DEVELOPERS_SUITE_PATH]\Emulators\Nokia_Series_60_MIDP_Concept_SDK_Beta_0_1 into
    [J2MEWTK_PATH]\wtklib\devices. When you open the WTK you will find the Nokia Series 60 Concept Beta device listed in the emulator listbox.
    Please note that at this point you can't access Nokia's APIs (com.nokia.*) from the WTK even if you are running a Nokia emulator (you can if you are using the Nokia Dev. Suite). By default the WTK uses only the standard MIDP profile (i.e. uses midpapi.zip in the -classpath when build). If you wanna run only standard MIDP you don't have to do anything particular. In order to use to WTK to build/display Nokia-specific MIDP, you must add nokia's classes (bin/classes.zip in your emulator's folder] to your -classpath.