Discussion Board

how to build a custom video player

Hi all,
    I'm new to mobile development on Nokia. I'm trying to understand how I could build a video player that gets a stream from HTTP.
    At the moment I'm just checking the feasibility, I read here:
    http://www.forum.nokia.com/main/reso...es/audiovideo/

"Use network APIs (RSocketServ, RConnection, RSocket) to connect to the network (2). Then use CMdaAudioOutputStream for audio rendering (1) and CDirectScreenAccess APIs for video rendering."

But it says nothing about the API to use for decoding the video and audio packets.

Besides I wanted to ask if it's possible to develop just the player and network in c++ and the GUI in Flash lite or Java.
    Not sure you can use different languages inside the same application.

Thanks in advance for any answer.
    Bye

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: how to build a custom video player

Quote Originally Posted by Melmoth View Post
    "Use network APIs (RSocketServ, RConnection, RSocket) to connect to the network (2). Then use CMdaAudioOutputStream for audio rendering (1) and CDirectScreenAccess APIs for video rendering."
    This quotation describes the way should be followed when implementing a custom streaming protocol. In that case video decoder would also be a proprietary one, developed by you.

Hi,

This isn't easy. For video decoding, if you are targetting the majority of existing devices in the market then you'll either have to partner with Nokia/Symbian to get the appropriate APIs or port/buy your own video codec.

If you are looking to the future (and latest devices only) then you might possibly be able to use the MDFDevVideo Playback API which is available in the SDK API Plug-in for S60 3rd Edition FP2. You'll probably want some tech support to use that as well though.

In fact, if you aren't in a hurry you might want to wait and join the Symbian Foundation to get access to the full source code!