×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: CMMFCodec

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    43

    CMMFCodec

    Can anyone tell me why the CMMFCodec (mmfcodec.h and mmfserverbaseclasses.lib) class is not in the public SDK's (also not in the plug-in packs)?

    Also where I can get it for 3rd Edition FP1 and FP2.

    cheers

    JW
    John Ward

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,165

    Re: CMMFCodec

    Not sure, but have you checked the MMF plug-in package that is available for MR SDK already ?

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,280

    Re: CMMFCodec

    CMMFCodec is in the original plug-in package for the 3rd MR SDK (I've used it) but that resource now claims to have been superseeded by the SDK API plug-in package, which doesn't include it.

    I think it should be added since there are use cases which can't be acheived with the DSP decoder (i.e. processing the decoded audio).

    Sorcery

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    43

    Re: CMMFCodec

    Yes, it is in 3rd MR SDK, but not available for FP1 or FP2 (not evenin in the "plug-in pack". I don't understand why they where omitted in the first place.

    Regards

    JW
    John Ward

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: CMMFCodec

    Quote Originally Posted by johnward1978 View Post
    Yes, it is in 3rd MR SDK, but not available for FP1 or FP2 (not evenin in the "plug-in pack". I don't understand why they where omitted in the first place.

    Regards

    JW
    Sorcery-ltd is right this class is available in "Plug-in SDK for 3rd MR SDK". Not in 3rd MR SDK. As the readme says any API included in Plug-in SDK may be removed.

    if you still miss that API then you can get it via API Partnering.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,280

    Re: CMMFCodec

    Just to make this really clear - the system software does not use CMMFCodec to play audio files, it uses codecs at the MDF level. The only reason for the existence of these "soft" codecs in the firmware is so that third party developers can use them. Not including the APIs in the SDK is just plain stupid!

    Sorcery

Similar Threads

  1. CMMFCodec no longer works in FP2
    By siancu in forum Symbian Media (Closed)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2010-02-01, 13:36
  2. CMMFCodec replacement for S60 3rd
    By ronaldwh in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-05-13, 03:11
  3. CMMFCodec encoding PCM16 to AAC
    By ghauber in forum Symbian Media (Closed)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-08-20, 04:52
  4. does CMMFAudioOutputStream and CMMFCodec support PCMA in S60 3rd?
    By pelepeng in forum Symbian Media (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-03-06, 12:27
  5. CMMFCodec on 3rd edition devices for gsm6.10 codec
    By inguvaseshu in forum Symbian Media (Closed)
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 2006-10-29, 14:01

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×