×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Cairo-Egypt
    Posts
    23

    Changing the default language

    Hi,
    I wanna know is it possible to change the mobile default language from my midlet ?
    What I wanna do is changing the layout of a list to be ( rigth-to-left), and since List does not extends Item, I can not use Item.setLayout(), but the list layout follows the default layout of the mobile, which means that I need to change the layout!!!
    Any ideas?

    Note: setLayout() does not change the layout of the lable of the selected item ??!!!!!

    Thanks in advance
    Lamiaa
    Last edited by lamiaaMB; 2008-08-06 at 14:12.
    http://movi-az2.blogspot.com/

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: Changing the default language

    Unfortunately you cannot change the default language from the MIDlet.
    Could you ask the user to change the language? BTW, why would you need to change the language? The user is probably using the phone with the language he is most comfortable with...

    Hartti

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Cairo-Egypt
    Posts
    23

    Re: Changing the default language

    Quote Originally Posted by hartti View Post
    BTW, why would you need to change the language? The user is probably using the phone with the language he is most comfortable with...

    Hartti
    That's what I said to my boss, but the customer wants an arabic version without changing the device language

    So, there is no way to change the layout of the items (I mean all the items) other than setLayout().

    Thanks
    Lamiaa
    Last edited by lamiaaMB; 2008-08-07 at 03:20.
    http://movi-az2.blogspot.com/

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,553

    Re: Changing the default language

    Only by the user changing the language using the phone settings.

    However, an alternative (but a lot of work for you) is to do your own UI components/elements (like a game does; draws everything itself, more or less).

    If you estimate how much work that is, and give your boss and the (paying?) customer the options:

    a) don't try and let it be left to the phone user
    b) write all the controls from "scratch" and delay the project for a year (or however long you estimate it takes) and make it (much) more expensive

    I think this is then a requirement that will be dropped (you won't have to do it).

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Cairo-Egypt
    Posts
    23

    Re: Changing the default language

    Thanks petrib
    I took your advice
    But, what about the lables of the items, when I change the layout of an item I want to change the position of the lable too ??!!!!

    Thanks
    Lamiaa
    http://movi-az2.blogspot.com/

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2010-08-02, 11:41
  2. Java App Midlet certification (new thread)
    By mocad_tom in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-06-24, 04:12
  3. Changing language on editor
    By rajanghodke in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-10-01, 20:17
  4. Changing language of default CBA texts?
    By antijn in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2005-04-07, 15:49

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×