×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    72

    problem while working with RMS

    hi,

    When working with RMS I encountered a problem. When i save the record its saved and when i read it i can read it. But once i compile my application again and try to read the data, the old data is lost, and i can't access that again.

    I have a scenario where I save a record when a button is pressed. I need that record i future, but the data is not stored permanently in the midlet. I am trying that in midlet, is this because of midlet ?? or do i need to anything else beside this??

    is there anyway of maintaining records in the files permanently in mobile phone??

    Looking for reply.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,595

    Re: problem while working with RMS

    Hello amishra,

    do you encounter this when use your MIDlet? Or do you re-install your MIDlet after each compile and this problem appears because of this?

    In addition to RMS, you could use FileConnection API (JSR-75) for storing info in files:
    http://www.forum.nokia.com/info/sw.n..._0_en.zip.html

    Regards,
    r2j7
    [URL="http://library.forum.nokia.com/java"][B] >>> Java Developer's Library <<<[/B][/URL]
    [URL="https://www.developer.nokia.com/Resources/Support/Technical_support.xhtml"] [B]>>> Technical Support for Java ME development <<<[/B][/URL]
    [URL="https://publish.ovi.com/info/"][B]>>> Nokia Publish: reach millions of Nokia users worldwide through Nokia Store <<<[/B][/URL]

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    72

    Re: problem while working with RMS

    hi,

    I just re-compiled and run it, i did nothing beside this, before this used to work fine... but i faced this problem only today.

    Thanks for the next option i will have a look at it.

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Posts
    2,406

    Re: problem while working with RMS

    Hi Amishra,

    on which emulator are you experiencing this behaviour/issue?

    Pit

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    53

    Re: problem while working with RMS

    RMS does not work properly on emulators!
    WTK keeps them unless you delete them. SDK emulator discards them.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    24

    Re: problem while working with RMS

    hi amishra,
    Actually in WTK data is stored in a .db file which is treated as a RMS for emulator; every rms is associated with its Midlet suit.
    Whenever you re compiling ur application, suit is updating, that may be the reason.
    Also check method openRecordStore(,); where second parameter should be true.

Similar Threads

  1. some problem with rms?
    By hst_little in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-01-31, 14:16
  2. Problem with RMS files in S60 emulators
    By cutesridhar in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-10-27, 00:26
  3. RMS related problem
    By giridharg in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-10-17, 09:58
  4. problem related to RMS
    By giridharg in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-12-19, 12:32
  5. RMS getRecord() problem
    By jennieanxa in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-12-07, 14:13

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×