×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    14

    BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory does not exist

    Hi all

    I'm stuck again.

    I'm currently installing everything on my machine and have encountered a problem. When I build a project I get:

    BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory "\Symbian\9.2\S60_3rd_FP1\EPOC32\" does not exist

    bldmake returned with exit value = 1
    using Carbide.c++ v1.3 express.

    But!

    Code:
    C:\Symbian>devices
    S60_3rd_FP1:com.nokia.s60 - default
    
    C:\Symbian>devices -info @S60_3rd_FP1:com.nokia.s60
    Device: S60_3rd_FP1:com.nokia.s60
    Root is C:\Symbian\9.2\S60_3rd_FP1\
    Tools path is C:\Symbian\9.2\S60_3rd_FP1\
    And this is the only SDK that I have installed - and the directory does exist!

    I know that I'm being very dim, but do not know how to resolve this problem. Any help very much appreciated. :)

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory does not exist

    check that you have a EPOCROOT env. variable set.
    If you have one then just delete it. restart your development machine and try again.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    14

    Re: BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory does not exist

    That's what I was trying to find, but I can't seem to locate it. How do I find and set my EPOCROOT env. variable?

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory does not exist

    My Computer >> Right Click >> properties >> Advanced >> Environment variables >> [Find EPOCROOT]

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    14

    Re: BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory does not exist

    D'oh!

    Thanks mate. :)

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory does not exist

    I have same problem as yours, but I follow skumar_rao suggestion and now the problem had solve.

    Thanks
    Last edited by slashliu; 2009-01-09 at 03:49. Reason: misunderstand the previous discuss

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13

    Re: BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory does not exist

    I have the same problem with my carbide1.3 & s60v5 sdk installation. But I've checked my env. setting and there's no EPOCROOT in it. What should I do?
    Commmand line build report the same error message.

    carbide & sdk both installed on the D: driver other than the default c: driver, is it a problem?

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,674

    Re: BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory does not exist

    Quote Originally Posted by MrAttila View Post
    carbide & sdk both installed on the D: driver other than the default c: driver, is it a problem?
    That should not be a problem as long as your projects also reside on drive d:.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,043

    Re: BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory does not exist

    Hi,
    In case you are not having EPOCROOT.You can add it in your environment variable.Just follow the steps mentioned by skumar_rao and set it.
    Maximus
    S60 Developer
    Impossible is nothing

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13

    Re: BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory does not exist

    Quote Originally Posted by yogpan View Post
    Hi,
    In case you are not having EPOCROOT.You can add it in your environment variable.Just follow the steps mentioned by skumar_rao and set it.
    Do I need to put the driver letter in the variable which can be seen like s60\devices\S60_5th_0.9 in carbide settings?
    Thanks.
    Last edited by MrAttila; 2009-01-15 at 05:43.

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory does not exist

    you should have all perl, SDK and Carbide installed on same drive. make sure that is the case .

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,043

    Re: BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory does not exist

    Hi,
    It is always better to mention the complete absolute path while defining the root path. Why to take chance anyways!!!
    Maximus
    S60 Developer
    Impossible is nothing

  13. #13
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,674

    Re: BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory does not exist

    Quote Originally Posted by MrAttila View Post
    Do I need to put the driver letter in the variable which can be seen like s60\devices\S60_5th_0.9 in carbide settings?
    If you mean the EPOCROOT variable in Properties/Carbide.c++/Build Configurations/Environment, that one must not include the drive letter, because perl scripts in the SDK treat ':' as a separator character of a list (*). However the variable have to start and end with '\' ('\s60\devices\S60_5th_0.9\' in your case).
    Quote Originally Posted by yogpan View Post
    It is always better to mention the complete absolute path while defining the root path. Why to take chance anyways!!!
    (*) that is why.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory does not exist

    Better set the EPOCROOT env. variable with "/"
    Now substitute your epoc32 folder from command prompt
    Lets say c:\symbian\3.1sdk\epoc32 is your epoc folder
    c:\symbian\3.1sdk>> subst x: .
    c:\symbian\3.1sdk>> x:
    x:>>
    You build your application at this path.......

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,043

    Re: BLDMAKE ERROR: Directory does not exist

    Quote Originally Posted by dileeh View Post
    Better set the EPOCROOT env. variable with "/"
    Now substitute your epoc32 folder from command prompt
    Lets say c:\symbian\3.1sdk\epoc32 is your epoc folder
    c:\symbian\3.1sdk>> subst x: .
    c:\symbian\3.1sdk>> x:
    x:>>
    You build your application at this path.......
    Hi,
    I think it is '\' and not '/' for setting EPOCROOT.
    Maximus
    S60 Developer
    Impossible is nothing

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 2012-02-03, 18:22
  2. Bldmake error
    By Symbian_Neil in forum Symbian
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-06-06, 09:03
  3. Problem with bldmake bldfiles
    By adrian_ in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-01-14, 13:56
  4. The requested protocol does not exist http://www.yahoo.com
    By polrtex in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-04-25, 06:51
  5. bldmake gives ´EPOCROOT must be capitalised´ error
    By karikhp in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-04-22, 11:45

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×