×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    53

    Debugging an exe in the emulator

    Is there an easy way to debug an exe in the emulator? I set it to launch in the debug dialog, but still just get the default screen, and I can't find the exe.

    I've written a basic app to launch it, but that seems like alot of trouble to go to every time I need to debug an exe, and I'm hoping there's a better way.

    Thanks,
    James

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: Debugging an exe in the emulator

    What version of SDK you are using ?
    What is the IDE you are using ?
    What is your Application Type ?

    If you are debugging a UI application with Carbide.c++ v1.3 then yes you can do it using debugger options.

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,545

    Re: Debugging an exe in the emulator

    And just to make sure... compile the .exe also for the emulator (binaries intended to be run on the device do not work on the Symbian emulator).

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    53

    Re: Debugging an exe in the emulator

    What version of SDK you are using ?
    What is the IDE you are using ?
    What is your Application Type ?
    S60 SDK
    Carbide IDE (Express, but should upgrade to Developer some time next week)
    The app is a standalone GUI-less exe.

    And just to make sure... compile the .exe also for the emulator (binaries intended to be run on the device do not work on the Symbian emulator).
    It runs on the emulator, it's just annoying to have to jump through hoops to start it.

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    28,572

    Re: Debugging an exe in the emulator

    For some reason GUI-less executables are often referred as console programs/applications, so search for console in the Wiki.

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    53

    Re: Debugging an exe in the emulator

    Found the solution: you have to clear the emulator field in the debug dialog. If there's an epoc.exe there, the debugger launches it and ignores the exe field.

Similar Threads

  1. Autostarting an EXE on boot time in emulator
    By waterInSky in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-11-28, 17:48
  2. Emulator freeze on starting debugging process
    By Stormdog_ru in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-09-28, 10:16
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2003-06-05, 21:09
  4. Sun1 Studio debugging started working for 7210 emulator
    By keithmarsh in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2003-06-03, 15:52
  5. Debugging in 3410 emulator
    By barel in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-12-19, 15:36

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •