Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Beginner,need info right from the scratch!

Hello everyone!
    I am new to this developer forum and to developing applications for s60 too! I have been reading documentations,elearning since 1-2 days now but in the end i feel a little confused!

I have nokia N95,s60v3, and i have some innovative ideas about certain applications i want to design.I have some knowledge of C/C++ so i was thinking about downloading Carbide.c++ v1.3 but then i got confused if i need to download S60 Platform SDKs for Symbian OS, for C++ first! Does both of them work togather or are different stuff?

Secondly,what should i do to learn the initial phases of developing an application?where can i find working examples?where can i find the s60v3 emulator etc! I have many questions as i suppose every beginner have! So plz help me out,i may turn out to be a good asset!

Re: Beginner,need info right from the scratch!

Hi,

Download Carbide then install it. After installation you should see Web page which tells you what you need to install before you can start application development with Carbide. You need to install Perl and 3rd Edition SDK. After you have installed SDK, search the folder where you installed it, there you can find working examples which you can import to Carbide and run on emulator or phone. Emulator comes with SDK.

Super Contributor

Lightbulb Re: Beginner,need info right from the scratch!

C++Beginner (MS Access/FoxPro,VisualBasic Developer) Carbide V2.7,S60 3rd MR SDK/Nokia C5.00-5mp,6120c

Regular Contributor

Quote Originally Posted by PACALA_BA View Post
    PACALA_BA is there anything we can do if we donot get the SDK listed ?

Hello there,
    1st of all, i tried to doanload carbide.c++,which according to site is 186MB,but when download completed i was just 144MB and the setup didnt run! I then tried to use "nokia download manager" it gave "307 error msg,file moved to other place temprorily",dont know whats wrong.