×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    Angry RMS - opening multiple RecordStores

    Hi,

    I'm developing a J2ME app and initially assumed I'd be able to open multiple RMS RecordStores simultaneously (so that I can read from and write to different stores). However I see that openRecordStore returns a static.

    Am I correct in thinking this means a Midlet can have only 1 recordstore open at any time ? If so, has anyone worked out a simple way around this ?

    Thanks

    John Young

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    220

    Re: RMS - opening multiple RecordStores

    Hi There,

    Being openRecordStore() API as static does not mean that you can open only one record store at a time. The static reveals the fact that to call openRecordStore() method you do not require any instance(object) of RecordStroe class.

    So, a midlet can have multiple record stores and you can open them simultaneously as well as work with them.

    Hope this will clear your doubts.

    Regards
    Amit

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Capital of INDIA
    Posts
    4,328

    Thumbs up Re: RMS - opening multiple RecordStores

    Hi John Young,
    As amitmishra19 has explained that you can write the data simultaneously.Hence you can read more about RMS here.

    http://www.java2s.com/Code/Java/J2ME...alityofRMS.htm

    In hope this might help you.

    Thanks
    Thanks with Regards,

    R a j - The K e r n e l


    Join Delhi-NCR Nokia Developer's Community,

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    24

    Re: RMS - opening multiple RecordStores

    hi John,

    Yes you can work on multiple Record stores simultaneously as Raj and Amit also said. I have worked on it successfully for both Nokia Series 40 and 60 devices and also.

    anjan

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: RMS - opening multiple RecordStores

    i am using two record stores and i am opening them and closing them as per requirement. it is working exactly as required with wtk emulater but when i tried it with S60 emulater it doesnt work at all.
    please suggest what may be happening. i am stuck with this problem for long now .

    thanks and regards

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Posts
    2,406

    Re: RMS - opening multiple RecordStores

    Hi HGupta6,

    try specifying a bit more what do you mean by "not working" (e.g.: are you getting an Exception? Does your application hang? etc..)

    Pit

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    53

    Re: RMS - opening multiple RecordStores

    hi streamfieldgate,
    why you think you are always wrong? The problem may be in S60 emulator.
    I have noticed the following about WTK and S60 emulator:
    WTK keeps Records even if you close it.
    S60 discard them as long as you exit application.

    Keep it in mind. and please provide more "hints" :P

Similar Threads

  1. RMS data LOST problem in 3410!!!
    By bitsonic in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2009-03-27, 09:50
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2008-07-27, 03:30
  3. RMS record sizes.
    By earamsey in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-10-18, 13:51
  4. Showing gauge while opening RMS
    By J-V in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-11-14, 13:31
  5. 7210 & 7250 RMS resetting problem
    By keithmcneill in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-11-13, 21:04

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×