×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Find longitude and latitude

    Hi all members,

    Can any one tell me, Is there any way to find longitude and latitude if device does not have GPS supported hardware.
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    777

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    some time befor i was faced this situation at that time i stored some database and use some maths algo,by which i got this information.may be there are sum api but i did not get yet...
    i know this is not good solution..
    Regards
    $-Nitesh-$

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,560

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    If the device does not have an actual GPS receiver, and if you do not have an external GPS receiver either, then you need the network operator's support (they have to provide you the information via proprietary or standardized location based service, LBS, support). An operator-specific solution will only work with those network operators who support that approach (only global solution that is indepdendent of operator support is real GPS).

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    Hi,

    Does some one know that can I do something using network triangulation if yes then how can i do this?
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    3,644

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    You can get the cellid and then use something CellDb (http://celldb.org/) to get the pos of the cell, this how apps like google and nokia maps do it when quick location info is needed (hence the red blob around the position, this being the signal strength I think).

    You can't triangulate as there is not enough cell info to do it.
    Download Symbian OS now! [url]http://developer.symbian.org[/url]

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    Hi Paul.Todd,

    Its really a wonderful link but might be they do not have a db for india.
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

Similar Threads

  1. converting latitude and longitude into x y
    By oyuky in forum Symbian
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2008-05-20, 14:11
  2. 9210 City latitude and longitude
    By nickct in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-08-16, 10:38

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×