×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Find longitude and latitude

    Hi all members,

    Can any one tell me, Is there any way to find longitude and latitude if device does not have GPS supported hardware.
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    777

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    some time befor i was faced this situation at that time i stored some database and use some maths algo,by which i got this information.may be there are sum api but i did not get yet...
    i know this is not good solution..
    Regards
    $-Nitesh-$

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,563

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    If the device does not have an actual GPS receiver, and if you do not have an external GPS receiver either, then you need the network operator's support (they have to provide you the information via proprietary or standardized location based service, LBS, support). An operator-specific solution will only work with those network operators who support that approach (only global solution that is indepdendent of operator support is real GPS).

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    Hi,

    Does some one know that can I do something using network triangulation if yes then how can i do this?
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    3,644

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    You can get the cellid and then use something CellDb (http://celldb.org/) to get the pos of the cell, this how apps like google and nokia maps do it when quick location info is needed (hence the red blob around the position, this being the signal strength I think).

    You can't triangulate as there is not enough cell info to do it.
    Download Symbian OS now! [url]http://developer.symbian.org[/url]

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    Hi Paul.Todd,

    Its really a wonderful link but might be they do not have a db for india.
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,563

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    The cell ID is useless piece of information for positioning, if you don't know where the cell is, and usually the network operator does not release such details.

    And even then, you could be standing 10 meters from the cell, or 10 kilometers from it, so the accuracy with just the cell ID and its coordinates is not necessarily that good.

    Additionally, uould need to know in which direction the cell (basestation) antenna is directed and how wide its sector is. Again, not information network operators publish.

    Add to that various signal strength and timing information, and you can be even more accurate. No public device-side APIs for such details is the problem for this one.

    And then, further, you would need to be able to find also the other cells (basestations), and if you also had their coordinates and access to the signal strength and timing data, you'd be able to more accurately triangulate your true position in relation to the cells surrounding you. Again, no published device-side APIs for getting nearby cell info, either.

    With network-based LBS, the operator has access to such data and might offer it to you (for a fee), or they might not.

    So, as stated, a genuine GPS receiver is still the best way to get the location.

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    3,644

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    True, but thats still the best that is avaliable when you need speed over accuracy.

    That is what google maps appear to be using at least.
    Download Symbian OS now! [url]http://developer.symbian.org[/url]

  9. #9
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    Hi,

    Thank you friends for your reply I understand but it will take time to do.

    Thanks
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  10. #10
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,563

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    What Google seems to be doing is also building up a database of their own combining information from users without GPS (getting only cell ID info) and those with GPS (where they can capture the true GPS location and the cell ID). Then after they've capture that, too, then the next user without GPS gets a more accurate location, because now they know roughly where the cell is.

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    3,644

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    There are plenty of solutions out there from Navison to yahoo
    http://developer.yahoo.com/yrb/zonetag/index.html
    http://blog.peoplesdns.com/archives/34
    Download Symbian OS now! [url]http://developer.symbian.org[/url]

  12. #12
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    985

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    Just additional info, if your devices that you are targetting have WiFi, there is WiFi positioning. Skyhook Wireless (http://www.skyhookwireless.com/) is one of the provider for this solution. I am not sure whether they have database of India yet.

    Last time, I tried their SDK in Vancouver (Canada) and it works pretty well in the city area (the result is almost as accurate as GPS). Unfortunately, once we go outside the city, it has difficulty locating for position -> because not so many WiFi routers are available.
    Antony Pranata
    http://www.antonypranata.com/
    http://www.s60tips.com/

  13. #13
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    3,644

    Re: Find longitude and latitude

    There are also solutions such as Navison which does both wifi can cell
    Download Symbian OS now! [url]http://developer.symbian.org[/url]

Similar Threads

  1. converting latitude and longitude into x y
    By oyuky in forum Symbian
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2008-05-20, 14:11
  2. 9210 City latitude and longitude
    By nickct in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-08-16, 10:38

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×