Discussion Board

Class Documentation

I'm fairly new to programming Symbian OS, and so I'm not sure where to find reasonable documentation on various classes.

For example, I stumbled across TChargeCard in the help and it's vague description sounded like something I needed to write an application I'd been thinking of involving long distance dialing services.

The document for the class included a list of its member functions and a very short description, but nothing about how or where the class was used.

No problem I thought, I'll just look up TChargeCard on Google and I'll find all sorts of references to it. However, aside from a bunch of stuff in Chinese, there were only 3 references. Two were just the docs I'd already seen, and the third was a message in one of these forums asking what had replaced it since it had been depreciated.

How on earth does one go about finding out about obscure classes if NO ONE discusses them or otherwise references them anywhere on the internet?

Any assistance anyone might be able to offer would be greatly appeciated.

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: Class Documentation

TChargeCard in particular has a rather complete documentation, at least in the SDK Help supplied with S60 3rd MR SDK - but I cannot see why would it be different in case of other S60 SDK-s.
    Generally it is true that not all classes have accessible documentation, but you should always check the SDK Help first. Then Internet, like FN Wiki, Google, etc., and if nothing helps, you may still manage to figure out something from the header file.

Thanks for the suggestions, but I've been through every single file provided with the S60 3rd Edition SDK (feature pack 2, v1.1) and the only references to TChargeCard are the skimpy docs I'd already found. I'm still at a loss as to why it is so hard to find the quality of documentation that you have obviously found. I'll keep looking.

Nokia Developer Moderator