Discussion Board

Arguments for S60 3rd Ed rom-based .exe's?

First a disclaimer: I'm not a Symbian developer...unless Python counts. (So if you think this post belongs elsewhere, you won't hurt my feelings. I couldn't find a more general forum for Symbian "architecture".)

My company uses Intellisync Mobile Suite. Our employees carry a variety of wireless devices including several S60 3rd Ed. units...E61i's, etc. Intellisync has its own simple scripting interface, which lets me perform different operations on our devices. The "Execute Program" action has two fields, one for a program and another for an argument. Symbian (or the Intellisync client?) largely ignores the arguments, and this has perplexed me for months. Nokia's support has been helpful, but they aren't programmers either. I've also been bugging the Python PyS60 developers. See this Sourceforge ticket and the attachments.

I can run basically any application I want through Intellisync: C:\sys\bin\Python.exe, C:\sys\bin\YuccaBrowser.exe, Z:\sys\bin\Notepad.exe, Z:\sys\bin\MusicPlayer.exe, etc. but without arguments. I noticed recently that the arguments field actually does something, as launching Z:\sys\bin\ImageViewer.exe with no argument locks up the application (!) on an E61i with the last firmware. With an argument, the application never starts, but triggers an OS Error -28 (invalid path).