×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4

    Help required on J2ME application.

    Hi,
    I am new to J2ME. I have developed a J2ME application which requires accessing the folders and files on mobile. While running the application on the emulator or one the mobile, it asks for permission to access each of the directories it enters. One way i found (by searching through various threads) to avoid this is to get the application signed which involves cost which is quite high for a test application. Is there any other way to avoid this situation? If so please suggest.

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,595

    Re: Help required on J2ME application.

    Hello Taurianz,

    unfortunately signing is required for accessing (read/write) data.

    Check here for other permissions requiring signing, under headline 'API access settings on real phones' for S60 and Series 40 devices:

    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...curity_Domains

    Regards,
    r2j7
    [URL="http://library.forum.nokia.com/java"][B] >>> Java Developer's Library <<<[/B][/URL]
    [URL="https://www.developer.nokia.com/Resources/Support/Technical_support.xhtml"] [B]>>> Technical Support for Java ME development <<<[/B][/URL]
    [URL="https://publish.ovi.com/info/"][B]>>> Nokia Publish: reach millions of Nokia users worldwide through Nokia Store <<<[/B][/URL]

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: Help required on J2ME application.

    Hi r2j7,

    Thanks for the reply.

    I have another query.

    I am trying to display images using j2me and I am successful in that but only few images. While trying to display some of the images, it is giving "Out of memory exception".
    One thing i noticed and guessed that the problem lies with the resolution of the image. I am able to view any no. of images which is of 600x400 range and getting exception for the images with 1600x1200. Is that the right reason or is there any other reason? And how to solve this problem?

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    220

    Re: Help required on J2ME application.

    Hi,

    From the exception its evident that the enough memory is not availabe to load the new picture.

    Its not only the image resolution that plys role in its size but also the bits/pixel of BPP.

    It might be possible that is you can edit your 1600x1200 image using soem image editior and reduce the BPP, you will be able to show that image as well.

    Let us know if any success.

    Regards
    Amit

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-07-29, 11:07
  2. Advice For J2ME Application and Question
    By localarea in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-06-30, 01:36
  3. Problem in deploying j2me application
    By Basu in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-06-05, 12:35
  4. J2ME application for controlling mouse through phone
    By tarun.park in forum Bluetooth Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-09-25, 19:39
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-08-25, 11:42

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×