×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    73

    How to set WLAN Access Point to enabled TKIP programatically?

    Hi, I try to create a WLAN access point with WPA security mode. And it's works.
    I got the code from WLAN Example. But I don't know how to enabled TKIP setting.
    Can anyone explain to me how to do it?

    regards,
    Oslario

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bangalore (INDIA)
    Posts
    38

    Re: How to set WLAN Access Point to enabled TKIP programatically?

    Hi oslario,

    I found a link which talk about TKIP is same as WPA2only.
    You can have look at below link:-
    http://discussions.europe.nokia.com/...essage.id=7245
    Thanks & Regards,
    Md.Khalid Ahmad

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    73

    Re: How to set WLAN Access Point to enabled TKIP programatically?

    hi er.khalid, thanks for reply.
    In my case, I want to enabled the TKIP programatically. On the AP that I created, I still can change the TKIP to enable, but I need to do this programmatically.

    Thanks for the response.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bangalore (INDIA)
    Posts
    38

    Re: How to set WLAN Access Point to enabled TKIP programatically?

    Hi

    I think you can do it by
    WirelessAP->WriteUint(EApWlanSecurityMode, EWpa2);
    Hopefully this will help you.
    Thanks & Regards,
    Md.Khalid Ahmad

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    73

    Re: How to set WLAN Access Point to enabled TKIP programatically?

    Yes, I already try that. But still the TKIP settings doesn't change, it still on "not allowed" state. I must manually change it to "allowed", it's the same when I use WPA mode.

    ps: What I mean by manually is I go to phone setting>connection>accesspoint

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    73

    Re: How to set WLAN Access Point to enabled TKIP programatically?

    It seems set the security mode to WPA (not WPA2) will make the TKIP setting set to "allowed".
    But I'm curious why we need to change the security mode to change the TKIP setting? Why there is no API to change the TKIP witout changing the security mode?
    Because either we choose WPA or WPA2, we can still change the TKIP setting manually.

Similar Threads

  1. Set Default Access Point
    By Patois in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-08-31, 19:01
  2. Connecting to WLAN access point
    By NigelT in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2007-05-04, 22:01
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-08-18, 09:03
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-08-17, 10:05
  5. programatically set access point
    By ianbolland in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-01-17, 15:57

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×