×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Screen capture

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    14

    Screen capture

    Hi,

    Is there any way to capture the screen on S60 device(Nokia N73) using j2me code?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Posts
    2,406

    Re: Screen capture

    Hi ezhil01,

    you cannot really "capture" the screen content in Java ME. Anyway, if you're using Canvas displayables, you can use an intermediate Image object to store the current display content.

    If you was meaning capturing the screen of other applications from your Java ME MIDlet, then no: this can't be done.

    Pit

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    14

    Re: Screen capture

    Hi,

    Thanks for ur reply...

    My idea was to capture the screen and send the image to server. Its something like Remote Display of the device on the server.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Posts
    2,406

    Re: Screen capture

    Well, as told in previous reply, if your application is Canvas-based, you could manually implement such a mechanism. Note that sending a continuous stream of Images could be quite network data-intensive, but you can surely do some tests and find out the optimal solution for your needs.

    Pit

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: Screen capture

    Quote Originally Posted by ezhil01 View Post
    Hi,

    Is there any way to capture the screen on S60 device(Nokia N73) using j2me code?

    Thanks
    I think it's possible by using Nokia extensions(DirectGraphics.getPixels()).

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: Screen capture

    ezhil01, note that the answers above are only about copying the screens of your application. You cannot capture the screen when your MIDlet is not on the foreground (so capture screen shots of other applications)

    Hartti

Similar Threads

  1. how to capture a video screen
    By yaohongwang in forum Symbian
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-08-26, 09:37
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-01-15, 11:53
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-12-13, 13:03
  4. Please help for capture screen during call
    By aamitgupta in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-10-04, 13:42
  5. Is screen capture image making possible?
    By MobileVisuals in forum Mobile Java Media (Graphics & Sounds)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-04-08, 12:37

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×