Discussion Board

using PushRegistry

HI,

I new to J2ME programming and am trying to use PushRegistry to start an application upon an incoming bluetooth connection. I dynamically register the entry and no exceptions are thrown (when the application runs, the user is prompted "allow application to start when notified?" - YES), but when I look at the push registry entries, there are none and the application does not start when the incoming connection happens. I am running the MIDlet on a Nokia 6085.

Here is the relevant portion of code:

String connString = dsrcAgent.selectService(myService, ServiceRecord.NOAUTHENTICATE_NOENCRYPT, false);
    String midletClassName = this.getClass().getName();
    String filter = "*";
    StreamConnection conn = (StreamConnection)Connector.open(connString);
    input = conn.openDataInputStream();
    PushRegistry.registerConnection(connString, midletClassName, filter);

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am a college student working on this project for school, and the phone was specifically purchased for this project and is not activated with service. Does the fact that there is no SIM card have any relevance to my problem?

Beau

Nokia Developer Expert

Re: using PushRegistry

When your app is running normally, can you connect to your service from another device or a PC? That is, your BT service is correctly registered with the Service Record?

Daniel

Here is more information into my struggles. Not only am I having a problem with the PushRegistry, but also in implementing a server connection.