×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    9

    Speech recognition (speech capture)

    Hi everybody, Anybody already saw the signal after the voice caught with the MMAPI (JSR 135)? I have developed something similar to the desktop using JavaSound, and worked perfect. Now I am trying to do the same thing in a phone but the signal, at the moment of silence, is "crazy", with values very high (of the same magnitude of the voice signal).

    The greatest difficulty is to identify what's silence. By now, I'm just testing in the Sun Toolkit and plotting the signal in Octave. Below follows the codes (part of them) for the capture of speech. Someone know what is the problem? Thanks...

    Code:
    p = Manager.createPlayer("capture://audio?bits=8&rate=8000");
    p.realize();
    rc = (RecordControl)p.getControl("RecordControl");
    output = new ByteArrayOutputStream();
    rc.setRecordStream(output);
    rc.startRecord();
    p.start();
    Code:
    //This occurs when the user stop to speak
    rc.stopRecord();
    rc.commit();
    p.stop();
    init.append("Gravando...\n");
    recordedSoundArray = output.toByteArray();
    output.close();
    int n = recordedSoundArray.length;
    int[] audioData = new int[n];
    for (int i = 0; i < n; i++) {
          audioData[i] = recordedSoundArray[i];
          System.out.println(audioData[i]);
    }

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: Speech recognition (speech capture)

    Are you saying that the sound recording on Sun WTK causes problems (hmmm... there could be some problems in Sun WTK or with your set-up)?

    What if you test on a real phone? Does the "silence" still contain too much noise?

    Hartti

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    9

    Re: Speech recognition (speech capture)

    Hi, When I play the captured audio it's right, but when i look for the signal (audioData in the below code), it seems noisy. Tomorrow I will go to test in Nokia S60 Emulator. Thanks

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    9

    Re: Speech recognition (speech capture)

    Hi,

    I tested in Nokia S60 Emulator, with amr encoding and too don't worked (The same problem).

    Regards.

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: Speech recognition (speech capture)

    Ok,

    Sorry for the stupid question, but are you familiar on the amr ecoding file format? So are you looking the data in a correct way?
    (and no, I am not an expert on amr file format so google would be more effective than me in getting into details :-)

    Hartti

Similar Threads

  1. Speech Recognition Utility CreateLexicon
    By mgaeckler in forum Symbian
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-11-14, 11:55
  2. speech recognition in s60 3rd edition
    By fatema27 in forum Symbian
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2008-08-14, 06:06
  3. Speech Recognition Target Survey
    By fmang in forum Symbian
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-04-04, 08:53
  4. Speech Recognition In S60
    By bhagwatr in forum Symbian Media (Closed)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-01-30, 06:26
  5. Speech Recognition s60!!!
    By yudista in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-03-25, 06:29

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×