×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    53

    HOW TO ADD NEW SOFTKEYS

    Hi,
    I want to add 2 new buttons "System" and "tracking" to menubar.

    I have the following code

    RESOURCE CBA r_ctrm_symbapp_softkeys_system_tracking
    {
    buttons =
    {
    CBA_BUTTON { id=ECtrm_SymbAppCmdSystem; txt = "System"; },
    CBA_BUTTON { id=ECtrm_SymbAppCmdTracking; txt = "Tracking"; }
    };
    }



    RESOURCE EIK_APP_INFO
    {
    menubar = r_menubar;
    cba = R_CTRM_SYMBAPP_SOFTKEYS_SYSTEM_TRACKING;
    }


    to .hrh file
    ---------------
    num TTRM_SymbIds
    {
    -----------------
    ECtrm_SymbAppCmdSystem,
    ECtrm_SymbAppCmdTracking,
    ----------------
    };
    But I am getting errors.

    * RCOMP failed - deleting output files
    Link name not found

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    8,344

    Re: HOW TO ADD NEW SOFTKEYS

    Change the line to lowercase. As shown below:
    Quote Originally Posted by sanee View Post
    RESOURCE EIK_APP_INFO
    {
    menubar = r_menubar;
    cba = r_ctrm_symbapp_softkeys_system_tracking;
    }
    ...
    Nokia Developer Wiki Moderation team

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    53

    Re: HOW TO ADD NEW SOFTKEYS

    sorry,
    that does not work
    it compiles fine
    but crashes on execution.

    Regards!

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    4,540

    Re: HOW TO ADD NEW SOFTKEYS

    Quote Originally Posted by sanee View Post
    sorry,
    that does not work
    it compiles fine
    but crashes on execution.

    Regards!
    Well actually it means Kiran's suggestion has worked indeed(it compiles)

    Crashes on execution should have some other reason. You can find more regarding crash using http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...ded_panic_code

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    53

    Re: HOW TO ADD NEW SOFTKEYS

    I can not enable
    just in time debugging in emulator
    Tools -> Preferences menu, and finally make sure the "Extended panic code file" option is checked on the C++ Debug tab

    I go to tools menu
    under that a list appears.

    clicking on any item gives me error

    "can not start ecmt manager".

    Regards!

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    8,344

    Re: HOW TO ADD NEW SOFTKEYS

    Quote Originally Posted by sanee View Post
    "can not start ecmt manager".
    Check this: http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...ad.php?t=96937

    You are getting USER 23. Check for SDK help about this panic.

    Also check these articles: http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...ulltext=Search
    Nokia Developer Wiki Moderation team

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    53

    Re: HOW TO ADD NEW SOFTKEYS

    I updated the path in
    C:\Symbian\9.2\S60_3rd_FP1\Epoc32\tools\ecmt\config
    now, the panic code is shown.
    panic code is- user::23.

    Now I will search for panic code.


    By the way I had read about this topic "creating new softkeys"
    somewhere. How to search for that?? in forum nokia.

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    53

    Re: HOW TO ADD NEW SOFTKEYS

    now reading ur below mentioned link.
    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...ulltext=Search
    Think that is useful...
    let me check out.

  9. #9
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    53

    plz correct me

    I followed the link
    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...n_button_group

    and made modification to the code.

    Still.. I get panic user 23

    MODIFIED CODE
    ---------------
    .rss file
    -----------
    RESOURCE CBA r_hello_bye
    {

    buttons ={

    CBA_BUTTON {id = EHello;txt = "hello";},
    CBA_BUTTON {id = EBye;txt = "Bye"; }
    };
    }

    RESOURCE EIK_APP_INFO
    {
    menubar = r_menubar;
    cba =R_AVKON_SOFTKEYS_OPTIONS_EXIT;
    }

    APPui.cpp file
    ----------------
    #include<eikbtgpc.h>

    void CTRM_SymbAppUi::HandleCommandL(TInt aCommand)
    {
    switch (aCommand)
    {
    -------------------------
    -------------------------
    case EGpsMap:
    {

    CEikButtonGroupContainer* cba = CEikButtonGroupContainer::Current();
    if(cba)
    {
    cba->SetCommandSetL(R_HELLO_BYE);
    cba->DrawNow();
    }


    iAppView->GetGpsInfoL();
    }
    break;

    ----------------------------
    ----------------------------

    }}

    in mmp file
    -------------
    eikcoctl.lib avkon.lib
    now what to do.......
    Last edited by sanee; 2008-09-27 at 16:52.

  10. #10
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,689

    Re: HOW TO ADD NEW SOFTKEYS

    Yes, generally you do not have to wait a day before checking the answers.

  11. #11
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    53

    Re: HOW TO ADD NEW SOFTKEYS

    sorry for that,
    but today is a holiday for me.
    I just came in to office to do some work.
    I reached a n hour/2 earlier (approx).
    Last edited by sanee; 2008-09-27 at 15:19.

  12. #12
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    53

    Re: HOW TO ADD NEW SOFTKEYS

    It worked.
    I dont know why it was not working earlier

    I guess the error in the previous try to change CBA was because it was defined above

    RESOURCE EIK_APP_INFO
    {
    menubar = r_menubar;
    cba =R_AVKON_SOFTKEYS_OPTIONS_EXIT;
    }

    Still now if I define my code above RESOURCE EIK_APP_INFO, it gives some panic
    it works if the code is defined below.

    This is just my guess.

    This data may be helpfull to someone else

    Regards to all!

  13. #13
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,689

    Re: HOW TO ADD NEW SOFTKEYS

    Sorry, I have not reflected to your very first post in this thread. So the first 3 resources for a Symbian GUI applications are fixed:
    - RSS_SIGNATURE
    - TBUF
    - EIK_APP_INFO
    Most .rss files do not even give a name to these resources (ok, the TBUF is usually named as r_something_document_name), because they are used by the OS. And the OS has no idea about your .rsg file, it simply identifies these default mandatory resources by their order in the file.

Similar Threads

  1. is it possible to add icon to indicator pane?
    By topwingo in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-01-19, 09:43
  2. is it possible to add icon to indicator pane?
    By topwingo in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-01-19, 09:00
  3. How to add Nokia Developer Suite in Eclipse
    By sachinwarang in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-04-24, 06:59
  4. [S60 3rd edition]How to add a sub menu under option/send when browsing in gallery?
    By bibu2651 in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-04-20, 08:12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×