Discussion Board

Exclamation Introduction to MTM

Hi all,

Project Overview:
    I try to develop an music uploader which should talk to a server (XBox), in order to play songs having on the phone through my stereo. So far so good I implemented an HTTP based protocol which talks with a servlet on my server. I scan all folders for music and upload it to my xbox.

My Problem:
    Now I want to implement an MTM which "simply" extends the fileexplorer send menu. I like to have an option eg. "Send->to XBox". Therefore I studied the TxtMTM example provided on the nokia side, but even after 2 weeks I cannot get into the stuff properly. Also I read capter 9 in Symbian OS Communications Book where they discuss an example very similar to my problem (Flickr MTM) unfortunally I cant find the source code for that example, and in the book in my opinion they miss a couple of stuff.

The question:
    Can anyone provide some basic overview, I mean where should I start to look at. The TxtExample seems to provide what I need but i cant get it. I promiss if I manage to get the stuff run, I'll write an article about it in the wiki or here, to prevent this kind of newbie questions
    Also all other examples are welcome, maybe someone already has the same problem and could help.

Thanks in advance
    Sirius

Re: Introduction to MTM

Hi,

you are free to post some questions to rene@inmote.com. I cannot promise if I can answer all questions, but I am currently working on a MTM (it runs on several phones and on the S60 3.0 MR emulator). I used TxtExample too as a starting point - the quality of the example and associated documentation is (I agree) a bit poor. We had to find out a lot (and really a lot) ourselves.

BR,

Rene
    Rene Heuven
    Inmote - Creative Smartphone Solutions
    Web: www.inmote.com
    E-mail: rene@inmote.com

Nokia Developer Champion

Quote Originally Posted by Sirius81 View Post

The question: