×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    5

    Question Carbide.c++ does have S60 5th Edition option

    Hi folks,
    I just installed S60 5th Ed on my system. Also installed Carbide.C++.

    But when I try to add a new project in Carbice.c++, I only get the option to create S30 3rd Edition related files and not S60 5th Edition.

    Why is this so??

    Shouldnt it ideally be located inside the Add Project menu??

    Rgds
    Sanjith

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,355

    Re: Carbide.c++ does have S60 5th Edition option

    There are a couple of tests you can do. Btw, are you using Windows Vista?

    At a command prompt, type "devices" and inspect the content. Do you see the SDK there.

    Open "\Program Files\Common Files\Symbian\devices.xml" and make sure that the S60 5th Edition SDK is registered there.

    Them check the SDK preferences in Carbide.c++
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: Carbide.c++ does have S60 5th Edition option

    [quote]Btw, are you using Windows Vista?[\quote]

    Hi ltomuta,

    Will it not work with Windows Vista?

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,355

    Re: Carbide.c++ does have S60 5th Edition option

    It will, but it would be advisable to install the SDK in Admin mode which is not something that an unadvised user would do. The SDK installer might then fail to update the devices.xml file and instead create one under
    %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files\Common Files\Symbian

    See also S60 SDK and tools on Windows Vista - a success story.
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    28,572

    Re: Carbide.c++ does have S60 5th Edition option

    I am not entirely sure about the original question, but Carbide does not offer new project types, however after creating a 3rd-Future project, it becomes possible to select the 5th edition SDK. At least this is what happens in my configuration, though I do not know if new project templates should have appeared or not.

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    3,644

    Re: Carbide.c++ does have S60 5th Edition option

    There may be a wizard project for "Touch UI" devices, at least there is in the carbide.c++ 2.0 beta. Otherwise you will need to select the 5th edition SDK from the list of SDK's when you create the project.

    You will still find new touch controls in if you have a 5th edition SDK installed. (eg Stylus Popup Menu)
    Download Symbian OS now! [url]http://developer.symbian.org[/url]

  7. #7
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,355

    Re: Carbide.c++ does have S60 5th Edition option

    Yes, I guess the question might have been aiming in that direction

    No, there is no S60 5th Edtion template coming with the Carbide.c++ 1.3.2 or with the SDK but any 3rd Edition project is just as good for a start.
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13

    Re: Carbide.c++ does have S60 5th Edition option

    I also experience the same problem when I first installed the 5th Edition. Here's what you can do:

    0) I am using Carbide.c++ v1.3 on a Vista box.
    1) Go to Window->Preferences...
    2) Select Carbide.c++->SDK Preferences
    3) Assuming that the new SDK is not in the list of available
    Symbian OS SDKs, click the "Add New SDK" button.
    4) Fill out the dialog box (the example is for 5th Edition):
    SDK ID: S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v0.9
    EPOCROOT: C:\S60\devices\S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v0.9
    Vendor: com.nokia.s60
    Is Default: yes
    OS Version: (Auto-Detect)
    SDK Version: (Auto-Detect)

    That should add the necessary SDK to the Carbide.c++.

    Hope that help.

    --Steven

Similar Threads

  1. SyncML API and S60 3rd edition?
    By harri_salminen in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-03-20, 14:50
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007-09-05, 10:38
  3. Carbide c++ and S60 3rd Edition Feature Pack 1 Working
    By jimgilmour1 in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-10-18, 20:39
  4. RTP stack on S60 3rd edition
    By kit_walker in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-09-28, 14:37

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •