×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Vadodara, Gujarat (INDIA)
    Posts
    29

    Changin UID3 value STOPS the application from running.

    Hi,

    I was developing S60 3rd Edition application and was using default value for UID3 generated by Carbide.C++ IDE

    Now, I need to implement AutoStart functionality and hence required to change the UID3 value. But when I change the UID3 Value and build the solution, it stops the application from running on Emulator. If I replace the UID3 value with the previous value then it works well. I tried "Clean" (Level 2) option but that did not help. If I start the emulator and run the application, it does not do anything. And when I again try to run the application it gives me "Menu: Feature not supported (-5)" error.

    When I install the application on device (after signing with Developer Certificate), the application does get installed. But when I run it, it does not do anything. It does not even give any error code or panic code.

    What is causing this?

    Your help and time is much appreciated?

    Regards,
    Best Regards,
    Mehul Patel
    Software Developer.
    (Palm OS, Symbian & Windows Mobile)

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: Changin UID3 value STOPS the application from running.


  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    8,347

    Re: Changin UID3 value STOPS the application from running.

    Mehul, you can check steps provided in this link: http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...4&postcount=35

    To read whole discussion check this: http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...d.php?t=138079
    Nokia Developer Wiki Moderation team

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    606

    Re: Changin UID3 value STOPS the application from running.

    Hello,
    if you use carbide you have to change UID in 4 places:

    \\sis\\app.pkg
    Code:
    ; standard SIS file header
    #{"app"},(0xOLD UID),1,0,0
    
    to:
    
    ; standard SIS file header
    #{"app"},(0xNEW UID),1,0,0
    \\group\\app.mmp
    Code:
    TARGET app.exe
    UID 0x100039CE 0xOLD UID
    
    to:
    
    TARGET app.exe
    UID 0x100039CE 0xNEW UID
    \\inc\appApplication.h

    Code:
    const TUid KUidappApplication = { 0xOLD UID };
    
    to:
    
    const TUid KUidappApplication = { 0xNEW UID };
    \\data\app_reg.rss
    Code:
    UID2 KUidAppRegistrationResourceFile
    UID3 0xOLD UID
    
    to:
    
    UID2 KUidAppRegistrationResourceFile
    UID3 0xNEW UID
    good luck

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    8,347

    Re: Changin UID3 value STOPS the application from running.

    Quote Originally Posted by nuker85 View Post
    Hello,
    if you use carbide you have to change UID in 4 places:
    Is it? My simple helloworld GUI application generated by Carbide.c++ reports 36 hits for the UID3 value. ;-)
    Nokia Developer Wiki Moderation team

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    606

    Re: Changin UID3 value STOPS the application from running.

    Is it? My simple helloworld GUI application generated by Carbide.c++ reports 36 hits for the UID3 value. ;-)
    hehehe
    I m not talking here about private path and things like that because changing them seems to be obvious

    It s just information that changing UID in mmp file it s not all what we have to do
    4 places which i have shown is necessity and minimum of what you have to change to give your app new UID

    ps. i guess that carbide found also UID in your .uidesign file

  7. #7
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    8,347

    Smile Re: Changin UID3 value STOPS the application from running.

    Quote Originally Posted by nuker85 View Post
    hehehe
    It s just information that changing UID in mmp file it s not all what we have to do
    4 places which i have shown is necessity and minimum of what you have to change to give your app new UID
    But to build application error-free, you have to change all the occurrences of UID value in all necessary places. And I think from originator perspective, he might have changed all of them.
    Nokia Developer Wiki Moderation team

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Vadodara, Gujarat (INDIA)
    Posts
    29

    Re: Changin UID3 value STOPS the application from running.

    Let me try all the suggestions provided and will keep you updated on this issue.

    Thank you all for your prompt response. Appreciate & love the dedication of this forum members.

    Regards,
    Best Regards,
    Mehul Patel
    Software Developer.
    (Palm OS, Symbian & Windows Mobile)

  9. #9
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    55

    Re: Changin UID3 value STOPS the application from running.

    Hi Mehul,
    First of all you should take the protected uid from symbiansigned.com then replace this uid with the old one,
    the better way to change the uid is at the start when you created ur project, or you can search the old uid in ur project and change it with the new protected uid.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Vadodara, Gujarat (INDIA)
    Posts
    29

    Re: Changin UID3 value STOPS the application from running.

    Hi All,

    I have solved the problem. I was changing all of the UID3 values but the problem was the Carbide.c++ IDE. Since I have selected the symbian project with UI Designer, the IDE adds some code in //[[...//]]. The following line created all the problem.

    // [[[ begin generated region: do not modify [Generated Constants]
    const TUid KUidMySymbianApplication = { 0xEAF62B8F };
    // ]]] end generated region [Generated Constants]

    I changed the above default UID3 value with the new protected UID3 value but after compilation the code automatically replaced the new UID3 with the previous value. It is my bad...I knew that this happens in Carbide but I forgot. It is sometimes difficult to catch such error. Hence, I thought it is important to explain the root cause of the problem as it helps other developers pin point such issues.

    Thank you for all your help.

    Regards,
    Best Regards,
    Mehul Patel
    Software Developer.
    (Palm OS, Symbian & Windows Mobile)

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: Changin UID3 value STOPS the application from running.

    Quote Originally Posted by MehulPatel View Post
    Hi All,

    I have solved the problem. I was changing all of the UID3 values but the problem was the Carbide.c++ IDE. Since I have selected the symbian project with UI Designer, the IDE adds some code in //[[...//]]. The following line created all the problem.

    // [[[ begin generated region: do not modify [Generated Constants]
    const TUid KUidMySymbianApplication = { 0xEAF62B8F };
    // ]]] end generated region [Generated Constants]

    I changed the above default UID3 value with the new protected UID3 value but after compilation the code automatically replaced the new UID3 with the previous value. It is my bad...I knew that this happens in Carbide but I forgot. It is sometimes difficult to catch such error. Hence, I thought it is important to explain the root cause of the problem as it helps other developers pin point such issues.

    Thank you for all your help.

    Regards,
    you have to change it from carbide.c++ designer ... else it will be generated again and your modification will be lost.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Vadodara, Gujarat (INDIA)
    Posts
    29

    Re: Changin UID3 value STOPS the application from running.

    What settings do I need to change in Carbide.C++ IDE to prevent such behavior?

    I did ask to the Carbide.C++ support team and according to them when you select a project with UI designer then the IDE will insert some code behind the scene and one can not modify this automatically generated code. One can add the code but can not modify it. Is it correct?

    Thank you for your suggestions.

    Regards,
    Best Regards,
    Mehul Patel
    Software Developer.
    (Palm OS, Symbian & Windows Mobile)

Similar Threads

  1. Application listening to the port running on the PC for Serial communication over USB
    By deepakpunjab in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-09-05, 08:20
  2. What is application running in background?
    By newnb in forum Symbian
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-01-08, 03:03
  3. Application Error While running application in real device
    By praveen_bluebird in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-11-21, 04:39
  4. Making a call while application is running.
    By aminuddin09 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-03-21, 20:15
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-06-10, 06:41

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×