Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Smile How and where to start

Hi every one,

I am really new to Symbian SDK and after getting fed up from going any where I though to ask the expert.
    I download and install the all-in-one S60 SDKs and it seem the installation was successful because it was error free.
    I don't know where to start from here. I mean where can I type in the code, compile and test it.
    I even downloaded the SMS example but I don't know how to use the DSK.
    Many thanks for the help.

Rabmerab

Super Contributor

Re: How and where to start

-------------------------------------
    Thanks & Regards
    Ram
    Symbian OS 9.2/9.3,S60 3rd FP1/FP2,Carbide.c++v2.0

Quote Originally Posted by RB_Sahu View Post
    Thanks Ram,

I tried to follow the help but I got lost because he was talking about SDK 60 3rd edition and the one I installed is the SDK 5.
    Am I started by a difficult one and I have to start by the 3rd edition, please can you send me the link and quick help about the step to follow.
    I still thinking about creating an application in Visual C++ environment. Is there any analogy to Symbian.
    Thanks.

rabmerab

Super Contributor

Series 60 3rd edition is available in following link.
    http://www.forum.nokia.com/info/sw.n...16-3.0-mr.html

Series 60 5th edition is latest new edition. So it will be good to start from 3rd edition. Otherwise you can select SDK version according to your requirement.
    Thanks & Regards
    Ram

Nokia Developer Champion

Quote Originally Posted by rabmerab View Post
    I tried to follow the help but I got lost because he was talking about SDK 60 3rd edition and the one I installed is the SDK 5.
    It solely depends on your requirements. First of all decide about the phone family you are targeting. Do you have S60 5th Edition phone? Do you have S60 3rd edition phone?