×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    29

    [moved] Dial-up with Emulator

    Hi,

    I'm using SDK S60_3rd edition FP2 (Symbian OS v9.3) and I need to run my application with the Emulator and I'm trying to use dial-up connection. My computer has a modem integrated and I'm able to dial to a number using HyperTerminal program.

    According to Emulator documentation is possible to use a modem to dial. I followed the procedure which describes how to change the communication DB (CommDB, using CED and CEDDUMP).

    Trying to dial through emulator and I got this error:
    "Connection not available: -26041", I'm not able to dial an external number.

    Does anybody knows if it's possible to use Dial-up with the Emulator?

    Thanks,
    George.

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,355

    Re: Dial-up with Emulator

    I'm not sure what you're trying to do and why ... Since S60 3rd Edition the emulator uses Winsock so whatever connection is available to your windows machine (LAN, WLAN, dial-up ...) will be automatically accessible to the emulator and, internally, to all its application through the preconfigured Winsock IAP.

    Also, the emulator is part of the SDK and not of Carbide.c++ therefore I will have to move this to the "Symbian Tools and SDKs " forum.
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    29

    Re: [moved] Dial-up with Emulator

    Hi Lucian,

    thanks for your response.
    I wanted to use the Emulator as a regular phone (as in Hyperterminal). The application uses real phone numbers to different network switches. I thougt that if I configure the CommDB in Modem section of cedout.cfg file, with communication params. (e.g. Comm port= COM1, DataBits= 8, ...) the Emulator will use the PC Internal modem (extras from cedout.cfg file:

    ADD_SECTION
    # COMMDB_ID = 3
    Id=3
    Name=CSD Modem
    IfName=PPP
    PortName=COMM::3
    TSYName=PHONETSY
    CSYName=ECUART
    ...

    In the Emulator documentation is presented only the dial-up simulated or I need a real dial-up, if it's possible.

    Thanks,
    George.
    Last edited by george0095; 2008-10-31 at 13:48.

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    252

    Smile Re: [moved] Dial-up with Emulator

    Does it mean that we can dial a number from an emulator if emulator
    can talks to outside world through any netwok. If this topic is same as what i think then it will be really interesting for me.

    Have anyone has some exp...

    Can we really do this...

    Any help...

    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. [moved] Edition 2 Emulator not running
    By 76Richard76 in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-09-02, 12:01
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-07-18, 21:45
  3. [moved] Can not open Contacts on Emulator
    By dhn00107 in forum Symbian
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-07-18, 03:54
  4. [moved] Emulator configuration?
    By James McMurray in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-07-11, 16:17
  5. Carbide.vs emulator hangs when debugging
    By jyrkiettila in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2008-02-26, 17:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •