Discussion Board

Sprites on J2ME (again)

Thanks for all your answers on my previous sprite queries, but I have another...

I have built my own little sprite class, and it works pretty nice, however, when I move it, it leaves a trail behind itself, which doesn't suprise me, as I haven't done anything to counter it.

My question is, what is the fastest way to redraw my background after the sprite has left that particular area. My background is an image from a PNG, so just redrawing a white rectangle over it isn't an option.

Thanks again for everyones continued help.

Moray

RE: Sprites on J2ME (again)

Hi Moray.
    The fastest way to redraw the screen would probably be achieved redrawing only the portions of your Canvas/FullCanvas that has to change after you sprite movement. A simple way to do this is to use the setClip(...) method in javax.microedition.lcdui.Graphics specifying a clip rectangle that includes the previous sprite position and its new one [alternatively you can use repaint(x,y,width,height) as specified in javax.microedition.lcdui.Graphics]. The paint(...) method will then repaint only the pixels in that area.
    A problem arises if you have more than one sprite moving on the screen at the same time in a different area of the screen:
    two setClip(...) calls in the same paint method force a repaint of a rectangular area that consists of the smaller possible rectangle including all the clip rectangles defined by the setClip calls.
    This could add a lot of "dirty" code to your reapaint routines without being much useful if two or more sprites on the screen are slightly far from each other (the paint method will repaint a portion of the screen that is almost the same size of the Canvas).
    This depends from your type of game (an RPG-like game will probably require less full-repaints of the Canvas than an arcade-like one).