×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    105

    How should I build a data SIS file with a whole directory

    Hi all,

    I've some problems building a SIS with data only included ("SISOPTION" type i guess). What I'd like to do is to install a complete directory with ca. 20 files. Is there a possibility to list the directory in the pkg or do I have to enter an entry for each and every file? As this is language dependant I'd have to enter more than 200 files manually if I can't include a directory

    Thanks for your help!

    Chris

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,165

    Re: How should I build a data SIS file with a whole directory

    I think you gotta add them each separately.

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    105

    Re: How should I build a data SIS file with a whole directory

    just feared exactly that ... thanks, yucca!

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    105

    Re: How should I build a data SIS file with a whole directory

    hum - got another problem: I've got sort of language packs, each of which has files specific to the language and generic files. Now, if I install 2 language packs, I get "Update Error" because the 2nd language packs includes files already installed with the 1st and thus does not install them. How can I check for existence of a certain file and install only if it is not found?

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,748

    Re: How should I build a data SIS file with a whole directory

    You should forget that design. Though .pkg supports "if exists", it does not support "!:" in the condition, and it is hard to track what happens on uninstallation of the partial packages.
    Eliminate overlapping files - if they are really localized ("xy.z01", etc.), they can not clash.

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    105

    Re: How should I build a data SIS file with a whole directory

    actually I can't eliminate the overlap - I've got language pack german with german data libs + german option A + german option B. The user will have the choice to install either A or B or A+B. So there's no solution besides building three SIS files ("A" "B" "A+B")?

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    105

    Re: How should I build a data SIS file with a whole directory

    maybe somehow building a SIS with generic german files and then somehow including this SIS in option A and option B?
    Just a sidenote - do I have to pay for each and every SIS file someday when all this mess has to go to symbian signed?

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    105

    Re: How should I build a data SIS file with a whole directory

    hmm i fixed this by installing both option A and B to different paths and each time including the general libs. Not a good choice from a space-saving perspective but best for user experience. Thanks for your help!

Similar Threads

  1. S60_3rd_FP1 build error
    By zeynep in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-11-05, 07:41
  2. Can't build sis file too:( Need help
    By Lehin in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-06-22, 19:28
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-05-26, 14:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×