×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    596

    Question is it possible that More than one connection can active simultaneously

    Hello Friends,

    Is it possible to read data from one connection and send that data to server making another connection. Both process occurs simultaneously . To be more specific I am recording someones voice while my call is in progress and sending simultaneously that data to server in some chunk....

    please suggest..

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,751

    Re: is it possible that More than one connection can active simultaneously

    Yes, if you mean TCP/IP connections (sockets, RSocket), it is possible to have more than one of them working at the same time.
    If you mean access points (RConnection), usually you can have one active access point per hardware interface.

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    596

    Re: is it possible that More than one connection can active simultaneously

    Thanks, I was also thinking same. i will try and let u all know my
    further exp.... )


    Thanks

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    596

    Re: is it possible that More than one connection can active simultaneously

    Hi friends,

    One more cofirmation needed can i open a gprs connection while one of my call is in progress.
    I mean i want to open a gprs connection while i am receiving a call.

    Please suggest....


    Thanks

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ShenZhen, China
    Posts
    4,346

    Re: is it possible that More than one connection can active simultaneously

    Quote Originally Posted by kishore84 View Post
    Hi friends,

    One more cofirmation needed can i open a gprs connection while one of my call is in progress.
    I mean i want to open a gprs connection while i am receiving a call.

    Please suggest....


    Thanks
    it is yes....
    ----------------------------
    坚持学习, 坚持编码
    http://www.devdiv.net/
    qxiaoyuan

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    596

    Re: is it possible that More than one connection can active simultaneously

    Thanks qxiaoyuan , I am really waiting for this reply .

    Any way here i want to discuss where i have reached so far.

    1- I have tried making a socket connection (which works fine on any other condn) while i am receiving a call . I got an error -4135(KErrGprsServiceNotAllowed )Tested on device(N95).(on 3250 i couldnot start it menusystem error -25)

    2- But if before calling i started the aplication (means connection established) , I can receive data although i am receiving a call after that.(But there is a warning message packet data connection suspended).

    but i want to send data while call is in progress. Can u please suggest where i may be wrong. Otherwise i can put some code if it is needed.

    Waiting for ur reply.....Feel free to ask if there is something unclear...

    Thanks
    Last edited by kishore84; 2008-11-19 at 13:54.

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ShenZhen, China
    Posts
    4,346

    Re: is it possible that More than one connection can active simultaneously

    sorry, I misunderstand your mean. you want known that when a phone call incoming, can you establish a gprs connection?

    if it is your mean, bad news is that is seems your mobile service not support.

    mobile phone has three type.

    A type, support phone call and gprs in same time. it need network support. 3G is support.

    B type, support phone call or gprs. but one time only one can work. and support autom switch. s60 phone seems is this type.

    c type, support phone call or gprs, but need manual switch.
    Last edited by qxiaoyuan; 2008-11-19 at 14:17.
    ----------------------------
    坚持学习, 坚持编码
    http://www.devdiv.net/
    qxiaoyuan

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    596

    Re: is it possible that More than one connection can active simultaneously

    No pb thanks for ur response again, Yes I want to establish another connection to a server (which is purely data part) through sockets when i start receiving a call.
    I have seen on many phones that if u r call arrives ur normal download pauses or in some devices it stops and u can resume again.
    but two things doesn't occur simultaneously.

    But i want to discuss abt full duplex mode(channel) where there is a separate voice and data chanel available.....

    Then why this type of feature is not supported ....

    Can any body join in this discussion and let me clear these things...

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    596

    Re: is it possible that More than one connection can active simultaneously

    seems that u have edit ur post and it clears these thing a bit . can u explain bit more... Does it mean that it is supported only in 3g network .


    Thanks
    Last edited by kishore84; 2008-11-19 at 14:27.

  10. #10
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ShenZhen, China
    Posts
    4,346

    Re: is it possible that More than one connection can active simultaneously

    yes. only 3g support full duplex mode.
    so if you download a big file, you can not recvive sms and phone call on 2.5g.
    ----------------------------
    坚持学习, 坚持编码
    http://www.devdiv.net/
    qxiaoyuan

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    596

    Re: is it possible that More than one connection can active simultaneously

    Thanks But what abt my second result

    2- if before calling i started the aplication (means connection established) , I can receive data although i am receiving a call after that.(But there is a warning message packet data connection suspended).

    Why this type of behaviour is there I have tested it on 3250 and n95 and here there is no 3g network....

    Any Idea...

    Thanks

  12. #12
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ShenZhen, China
    Posts
    4,346

    Re: is it possible that More than one connection can active simultaneously

    because nokia s60 phone is B type, it can auto switch gprs and telephone.

    if there have some times that no gprs data transfer, like server or client block, BP will test network signal, so , it can find phone call and suspend gprs.

    if you download a big file, server and client all is run fast, you will find that "user outof service"
    ----------------------------
    坚持学习, 坚持编码
    http://www.devdiv.net/
    qxiaoyuan

Similar Threads

  1. Active connection recognition by MAC address.
    By ramis55 in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-07-10, 14:01
  2. Flash Lite and active connection
    By jappit in forum [Archived] Flash Lite on Nokia Devices
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-03-31, 10:24
  3. http connection and active object
    By miriwiri in forum Symbian
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2008-03-14, 09:15
  4. How Check if a Bluetooth connection is active
    By AGiuliani in forum Bluetooth Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-05-22, 09:16
  5. MMS Interruption during GPRS connection hangs the device?
    By alexhong in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-08-31, 18:47

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×