×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    16

    Thumbs up RMS Out of memory error

    Hi,

    I am getting "RMS out of memory error" in my app when i try to access List, which will be filled from RMS.And number of items in List will be 60 above.I am using NOKIA 2626 handset...which is target device......

    How can i avoid such errors......

    Thanks........

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Capital of INDIA
    Posts
    4,328

    Thumbs up Re: RMS Out of memory error

    Hi,
    While writing some data in RMS then please check that how much is the memory available..in the targeted device..you are supposed to..

    find the technical details here..
    http://www.forum.nokia.com/devices/2626
    in that you will find the details like -

    Max User Storage: 2 MB

    Max JAR Size: 128 KB

    Heap size: 512 KB
    Please check that how much the heap as well as the jar size of your application is..
    More important thing is that how much amount of data you wanna save in the targeted device.Is this size is less than the MAX size limit of persistent storage of that device.
    So,please check the size of data you are saving in RMS..
    Thanks,
    Thanks with Regards,

    R a j - The K e r n e l


    Join Delhi-NCR Nokia Developer's Community,

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ahmedabad
    Posts
    254

    Re: RMS Out of memory error

    Hi,

    RMS out of memory suggests insufficient memory available on the handset. Implement the same application on some other handset with more memory and I am sure that this error wont come.

    To remove this error you have to use less memory or after say 10 values are stored in RMS overwrite the contents. But again this will be useful if you no longer need those elements.
    Sunil
    Mobile Application Developer

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    16

    Re: RMS Out of memory error

    Thanks for replies,

    but as i confirmed RMS data is not much so that RMS memory will get full.....is it issue of Heap consumption??... because while loading list its getting error.....

    And if yes then how to handle the same??

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ahmedabad
    Posts
    254

    Re: RMS Out of memory error

    Hi,

    The error that you have specified suggests that RMS memory is getting full. May be you are right that it may be the problem of heap memory.

    You can use Memory monitor available in wireless toolkit. That will give a clear idea of where your program is consuming maximum memory.

    Hope this helps you.
    Sunil
    Mobile Application Developer

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Capital of INDIA
    Posts
    4,328

    Thumbs up Re: RMS Out of memory error

    Hi,
    AT the time of loading of the application what resources including images , media,etc file you are loading and how you are loading...
    it is rather more important that you load every thing in a perfecta and priority basis..

    You can go through
    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...d.php?t=114230
    else you can search the forum for the same..this thread have been discussed so many times..
    Thanks,
    Thanks with Regards,

    R a j - The K e r n e l


    Join Delhi-NCR Nokia Developer's Community,

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    16

    Re: RMS Out of memory error

    Again Thanks for Replies...

    but i am not loading the List with Images ....only the Strings i am using.........

    And this issue i am facing only in handsets...not on emulators.......

    So any idea.......why this is happening while loading the List.....

    Is it handset issue.......??

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    11

    Re: RMS Out of memory error

    As far as i think it is clearly a issue of low heap. Use System.gc() before you are retrieving the list from rms.

    this may help you.

    ~Amardeep

  9. #9
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Capital of INDIA
    Posts
    4,328

    Thumbs up Re: RMS Out of memory error

    Quote Originally Posted by j2me8 View Post
    Hi,

    I am getting "RMS out of memory error" in my app when i try to access List, which will be filled from RMS.And number of items in List will be 60 above.I am using NOKIA 2626 handset...which is target device......

    How can i avoid such errors......

    Thanks........
    Hi,
    What is the size of the data you are loading from RMS and writing to the RMS.
    Thanks,
    Thanks with Regards,

    R a j - The K e r n e l


    Join Delhi-NCR Nokia Developer's Community,

  10. #10
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ahmedabad
    Posts
    254

    Re: RMS Out of memory error

    Hi,

    Yes it seems to be the handset issue. Have you tried it on some other phone. If not then please try out on a different phone and see whats the change.

    For your application on the current phone I would suggest to use PushRegistry. Say your application is getting crashed in 30 minutes then destroy your application after 25 minutes and restart the application using PushRegistry.

    Hope this helps you out.
    Sunil
    Mobile Application Developer

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Capital of INDIA
    Posts
    4,328

    Thumbs up Re: RMS Out of memory error

    Hi,
    Provide the step by step flow here,what you are doing..?
    Thanks,
    Thanks with Regards,

    R a j - The K e r n e l


    Join Delhi-NCR Nokia Developer's Community,

  12. #12
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    65

    Re: RMS Out of memory error

    Please have a check for available memory when you are loading the lists.
    Also you could load the list from RMS piece by piece instead of a whole big list. This way you can reduce ur app footprint.
    1 more thing Strings are always heavy on the HEAP. so thats why when the device uses a lot of heap memory, the memory available for RMS is reduced.
    thus throwing the error.
    Best way for you to solve the issue would be to break up the list into parts of say 10 at a time.
    Thanks and Regrads
    Pradeepcg

Similar Threads

  1. XMl Parser Implementation for Symbian
    By ittiam in forum Symbian
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 2009-09-16, 05:26
  2. N70 'Memory Full' error using J2ME, Bluetooth and TCP
    By scoobyboy in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-12-06, 22:21
  3. carbide build problem help please
    By berkcekisbas in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-09-26, 19:41
  4. camera app compilation problems
    By basarim in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-12-31, 18:16

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×