Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Regular Contributor

signing applications without UI

I am wondering will symbian sign (express or ceritfied) such application which uses ReadDeviceData and Location to:
    1) Log CellId's change and/or GPS data change to a file
    2) Send data to server using gprs (automaticly, once a day for exaple)

It is possible to display ANY security or license warnings to user only during install, and after that application needs to be completely invisible.

I am new to symbian signed, and that's why I have following questions:

1) Is it possible at all to sign such an application?
    2) If yes, can I use express signed?
    3) If yes, what will happen if symbian will choose my application by random to look closer on it?
    4) If no, what can I do to get it signed?

Remarks
    * The only billable event - using GPRS to transfer data to server. I'll put A LOT OF WARNINGS in configuration app (which cannot be runned from user menu (only during installation))
    * I am going to share location data to another application through (do not know yet, can you suggest?)...something, and that application will show last logged cellid to user, etc. And I didnt finished that app yet.
    * Gonfiguring app will include filling in username/password, data send rate, and if needed all kind of warnings.
    * As for user privacy - there are only two things involved - imei and location.

Thanks.

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: signing applications without UI

Quote Originally Posted by StasV View Post
    1) Is it possible at all to sign such an application?
    Yes, it is possible.
    2) If yes, can I use express signed?
    Yes, you can.
    3) If yes, what will happen if symbian will choose my application by random to look closer on it?
    Then your application is going to be tested in the 'usual' way.