×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 15 of 22

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    28

    Settings to be done to add my own gateway

    Hi,

    Iam using a nokia n95 and have a nokia webserver running on my phone.
    I have my own raccoon gateway installed on the pc and not using the nokia gateway.
    Can anyone tell me a way to change the gateway settings on the phone as rite now it takes mymobilesite.net as its default gateway and iam not able to find a place to change the gateway to raccon gateway.

    Regards,
    vijaya.

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: Settings to be done to add my own gateway

    Quote Originally Posted by viji19812001 View Post
    Iam using a nokia n95 and have a nokia webserver running on my phone.
    I have my own raccoon gateway installed on the pc and not using the nokia gateway.
    Can anyone tell me a way to change the gateway settings on the phone as rite now it takes mymobilesite.net as its default gateway and iam not able to find a place to change the gateway to raccon gateway.
    Although conceptually similar, the MWS and Raccoon gateways are protocol and implementation wise completely different. That is, you cannot use MWS for connecting to the Raccoon gateway.

    However, you can install a so-called Raccoon connector that together with the Raccoon gateway provide your phone with a domain name and with HTTP access to it.

    If you then start MWS in local mode, you can access it using the Raccoon provided domain name and connectivity.

    Currently there is no pre-built SIS-package of the Raccoon connector, but the source code is available at SourceForge and can easily be built. Please let me know if you can build S60 software and I'll provide more detailed instructions.

    Br,
    Johan

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    28

    Re: Settings to be done to add my own gateway

    Hi,

    Thanx....

    Just to reconfirm what you have told:

    I cannot connect using a nokia web server to the raccon gateway which I have installed.

    Raccoon has a .sis file which i need to install in the phone and enter a Raccoon userid and pwd and then I can connect to the Raccoon gateway.
    I hope this is what u have mentioned.

    Also my N95 has the nokia webserver installed so if i try installing the raccoon sis file it gives an error "symbian OS 1.1 required."
    but the phone already has a symbian OS 1.3 present as nokia webserver had installed along with it.

    Do we need to uninstall nokia web server software before I install the raccoon .sis file Please suggest.

    Regards,
    vijaya.

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: Settings to be done to add my own gateway

    Quote Originally Posted by viji19812001 View Post
    I cannot connect using a nokia web server to the raccon gateway which I have installed.
    That's correct.

    Raccoon has a .sis file which i need to install in the phone and enter a Raccoon userid and pwd and then I can connect to the Raccoon gateway. I hope this is what u have mentioned.
    Almost. There is a component you need to install, but it is not available as a prebuilt sis, but you need to build it yourself.

    Do we need to uninstall nokia web server software before I install the raccoon .sis file.
    No, but you need to install just the connectivity part of Raccoon. The Raccoon sis you probably are referring to contains files that are in conflict with files already installed by MWS, which is the reason why you get the error message.

    Here's how you build the connectivity component yourself. First you must install a S60 SDK. Any version should be fine.
    Then:
    Code:
    > svn co https://raccoon.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/raccoon/phone/tags/release-1.0.1/phone/raccoon
    
    > cd raccoon\connector\group
    raccoon\connector\group> bldmake bldfiles
    raccoon\connector\group> abld build gcce urel
    raccoon\connector\group> cd ..\sis
    raccoon\connector\sis> make PLATFORM=gcce BUILD=urel CERTIFICATE=certificate-file KEY=key-file PASSPHRASE=your-passphrase sisx
    raccoon\connector\sis> cd ..\s60\connectorui\sis
    raccoon\connector\s60\connectorui\sis> make PLATFORM=gcce BUILD=urel CERTIFICATE=certificate-file KEY=key-file PASSPHRASE=your-passphrase sisx
    A self-signed certificate is fine for the signing.

    Then you install the created connector_gcce_urel.sisx and connectorui_gcce_urel.sisx files.

    After the installation you'll find a Connector application. Start that and then via [Options]->[Settings] configure it for your gateway. You need to set Identifier, Password and Gateway.

    Use [Options]->[Go Online] to go online.

    The Raccoon connector will deliver HTTP requests to any web-server listening on port 80 (or some other if you change the port). Thus, if MWS is running, the requests will be delivered to it.

    Note that nothing prevents you from simultaneously being connected via MWS to the MWS gateway and via the Raccoon connector to the Raccoon gateway, in which case your mobile will have two domain names; one provided by MWS and one by Raccoon.

    Br,
    Johan

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    28

    Re: Settings to be done to add my own gateway

    Hi Johan,

    That information was quite useful and now at least i know what to do .Let me rephrase the steps u have mentioned to make myself clear.

    Please correct where ever wrong.

    Step1:
    I should install any version of S60 SDK on the phone.

    Step2:
    Code for connectivity is to done on the PC where the gateway is installed.
    Do we need to do the command svn co https://raccoon.svn.sourceforge.net/.../phone/raccoon on the PC or phone?
    As this command is dumping all the Raccoon files on the PC.
    Other commands following it are giving errors so just wanted to know if any settings needs to be done on the PC before using them.

    Step3:
    The created connector_gcce_urel.sisx and connectorui_gcce_urel.sisx files needs to installed on the phone and the gateway settings ,username and pwd needs to be given there on the phone.

    The raccoon gateway has an interface to create userid so I would be using those on the phone to connect to my gateway.

    Step4:
    And when I try going online on the phone ...it should connect to my gateway as the port of my gateway is set to 80.

    Hope my sequence is correct.

    One more small doubt is what is the self signed certificate which u have mentioned.
    Is it that I need to have a file certificate-file which has the certificate and then run the command mentioned by u for creating the connector.

    Sorry for dumping too many questions on u .

    Regards,
    vijaya
    Last edited by viji19812001; 2008-11-28 at 04:57.

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: Settings to be done to add my own gateway

    Hi vijaya

    Quote Originally Posted by viji19812001 View Post
    Step1:
    I should install any version of S60 SDK on the phone.
    No, you should install a S60 SDK on your PC. It is needed for building the software (to be installed on the phone).

    Step2:
    Code for connectivity is to done on the PC where the gateway is installed.
    Do we need to do the command svn co https://raccoon.svn.sourceforge.net/.../phone/raccoon on the PC or phone?
    On the PC. The command will download the Raccoon source-code to your PC. You will get a fair amount of unnecessary stuff as well, but that you can ignore.
    Step3:
    The created connector_gcce_urel.sisx and connectorui_gcce_urel.sisx files needs to installed on the phone and the gateway settings ,username and pwd needs to be given there on the phone.
    Yes

    The raccoon gateway has an interface to create userid so I would be using those on the phone to connect to my gateway.
    Exactly

    Step4:
    And when I try going online on the phone ...it should connect to my gateway as the port of my gateway is set to 80.
    It should connect to the gateway using the port you have configured.

    Hope my sequence is correct.
    .

    It was almost correct

    However, it appears to me that you have not developed software for Symbian before. Since there is quite a threshold, I think it would be easier if I just built those components and uploaded them as pre-built to SourceForge. I will do that next week.

    Johan

Similar Threads

  1. Settings List Queries
    By aditya4180 in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-06-12, 15:16
  2. Nokia 6021 does not receive GPRS settings via OTA
    By cghabrous in forum Smart Messaging
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-05-22, 15:31
  3. Need an example of SIP settings on the emulator
    By roey in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-03-06, 14:33
  4. Syncml settings
    By dlunken in forum OMA DM/DS/CP
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-11-16, 13:29

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×