×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    24

    Carbide.vs stopping VS 2005!

    What am i doing wrong?
    I finally got Visual Studio 2005(non free version).
    It worked on my PC.But after installing Carbide.vs 3.0.1,every time i start Visual Studio 2005,it doesnt start,it just shows the startup image.
    What am i doing wrong?Do i need to use a patch or something??
    PS.Note that i have all the dependencies installed

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: Carbide.vs stopping VS 2005!

    It has nothing to do with Carbide.vs Plugin. Something wrong with your VS installation.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    24

    Re: Carbide.vs stopping VS 2005!

    Then how come Visual Studio starts perfectly when i dont have Carbide.vs installed?

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: Carbide.vs stopping VS 2005!

    Quote Originally Posted by symbon82 View Post
    Then how come Visual Studio starts perfectly when i dont have Carbide.vs installed?
    that is strange i suggest you send your case carbide.vs support so that it will be fixed. please include which OS, SDKs you have.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    24

    Re: Carbide.vs stopping VS 2005!

    Another starnge thing i would want to mention:
    When installing Carbide.vs it shows 4 required programs,right?The Perl and J# were in grey,cause i already had them.But the Visual Studio and Powertools werent detected so their download buttons could be clicked.
    However,i dont think that Carbide.vs didnt detect Visual Studio,because when it doesnt,it says 'Visual Studio 2005 is a mandatory requirement' and you cant go further.

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: Carbide.vs stopping VS 2005!

    which edition of the VS2005 [developer]you have installed.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    24

    Re: Carbide.vs stopping VS 2005!

    Pro edition.

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ShenZhen, China
    Posts
    4,346

    Re: Carbide.vs stopping VS 2005!

    Quote Originally Posted by symbon82 View Post
    Another starnge thing i would want to mention:
    When installing Carbide.vs it shows 4 required programs,right?The Perl and J# were in grey,cause i already had them.But the Visual Studio and Powertools werent detected so their download buttons could be clicked.
    However,i dont think that Carbide.vs didnt detect Visual Studio,because when it doesnt,it says 'Visual Studio 2005 is a mandatory requirement' and you cant go further.
    did you install vs2005 in c driver, or you reinstall vs2005 in different path. or you use vista os?

    for my suggest, you'd better use carbide.c++ or codewarrior, vs2005 + carbide.vs is not so good, it has some strange problem.
    ----------------------------
    坚持学习, 坚持编码
    http://www.devdiv.net/
    qxiaoyuan

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    24

    Re: Carbide.vs stopping VS 2005!

    Im using Windows XP.
    Visual Studio is installed in the default folder: C:\Program files\Visual Studio 8(or whatever).
    Carbide.vs is installed in the default folder as well,i think its C:\nokia\...
    Do i need to change something?Like the configure variable or what its called?

  10. #10
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: Carbide.vs stopping VS 2005!

    No, no need to change any parameters. The point you should consider is why Carbide.vs installer is not detecting your VS2005

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    24

    Re: Carbide.vs stopping VS 2005!

    Then im out of ideas :(
    I reinstalled VS,but it didnt help.
    I even tried to install Carbide.vs when VS was running.The symbian option in the project types appeared,but it didnt create one when i selected it.Also when i exited VS,and started it again,it didnt start as before.
    What the hell is wrong with this???
    When i install Carbide,in the 'Missing prerequisites' it shows Perl 5.6.1.638, S60 SDK,Java runtime in grey(i dont need to download them.
    But the Visual Studio 2005 SP1 and VC++ Snippets PowerToy it says are missing.However,i can continue the download.

  12. #12
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: Carbide.vs stopping VS 2005!

    try installing "Visual Studio 2005 SP1" that may be the reason.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    24

    Re: Carbide.vs stopping VS 2005!

    I will.
    I thout i had it already :(

Similar Threads

  1. Carbide.vs - Visual Studio 2005 plug-in
    By Mike Trujillo in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 2010-07-22, 22:49
  2. Carbide.vs 3.0 (supporting VS 2005) released!
    By mitts in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 2010-07-18, 09:30
  3. Carbide.vs 2.0.1 + Visual Studio 2005
    By galos1 in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2010-04-07, 03:23
  4. Carbide.vs 2.0.1 + Visual Studio 2005
    By galos1 in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-11-10, 13:31
  5. TRAPD doesn't work Carbide.vs 3, VS 2005
    By Igor Pchelko in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-11-14, 12:07

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×