×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    17

    Post

    Hi All,

    We are opening this thread for you to provide your feedback on the Public Beta version of 'Nokia WRT Plug-in for Aptana Studio'. All you feedback will be considered carefully by our team, this this a good chance to tell us what you think about the tool and any wishlist you have...

    There are issues we are aware of with the plug-in beta.

    • Mac preview: If you are a Mac user and you install Eclipse + Aptana Studio plug-in + WRT plug-in (as opposed to Aptana Studio Standalone + WRT plug-in) you may have trouble with the S60 preview feature. We are investigating this issue. This does not seem to be an issue for Windows users.
      UPDATE: the problem seems to be with Eclipse >= ver 3.4; Eclipse 3.2.2 SDK+Aptana update+WRT v1.0.0.28 works fine.
    • Firewall/proxy: If your internet connection requires a proxy you must set it directly within Aptana Studio. If you do not, this could affect your ability to install plug-ins or preview widget content. There are two places to set proxies in Eclipse:
      1. Window -> Preferences -> Internet Proxy Settings
      2. Window -> Preferences -> Install/Update

      be sure and set both appropriately for your proxy configurations. (see your system administrator or network guru if you don't know your proxy configurations)
    • Uninstall: If you have to manually uninstall the WRT plug-in do the following:
      1. Quit Aptana
      2. In the Aptana installation directory open the features directory. Delete all items beginning with com.nokia and org.eclipse.emf
      3. Do the same thing in the plugins directory
      4. On Mac OS delete the directory ~home/Library/Application Support/Aptana/
    • API Docs: The plug-in beta includes the current Web Developer's Library 1.3 which includes the 1.1 WRT APIs however, the beta only supports the 1.0 WRT APIs. Note this doesn't stop you from writing 1.1 compatible widgets for but features like code completion won't support the 1.1 APIs at this time.


    Thank you all. We are looking forward to your reactions to a powerful new tool for developing for Web Runtime.

    --
    Michael Bierman
    Nokia, Sr. Product Manager WRT Tools
    &
    Ung-Ping
    Web Technology Marketing Manager
    Forum Nokia
    Last edited by mbierman; 2009-01-09 at 23:08.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Palma de Mallorca
    Posts
    1

    Smile Re: Public Beta: Nokia WRT Plug-in for Aptana Studio

    Instalado sin problemas en un acer travelmate 290 con Windows XP service pack 2 y 512 Mb RAM , hecho de menos poder configurar el programa es español,Me pongo a trabajar con el y sigo informando.

    Un Saludo desde Mallorca

    Installed without problems in a acer Travelmate 290 with Windows XP Service Pack 2 and 512 Mb RAM, fact less able to configure the program is Spanish, I begin to work with and I continue to report.

    A Greeting from Mallorca

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    17

    Re: Public Beta: Nokia WRT Plug-in for Aptana Studio

    Quote Originally Posted by aiglesias@aiglesias.com View Post
    Instalado sin problemas en un acer travelmate 290 con Windows XP service pack 2 y 512 Mb RAM , hecho de menos poder configurar el programa es español,Me pongo a trabajar con el y sigo informando.

    Un Saludo desde Mallorca

    Installed without problems in a acer Travelmate 290 with Windows XP Service Pack 2 and 512 Mb RAM, fact less able to configure the program is Spanish, I begin to work with and I continue to report.

    A Greeting from Mallorca
    Forgive me--My spanish is terrible...I understand you were able to install but you are you having trouble configuring the Plug-in? Can you be more specific?

    --
    Michael Bierman,
    Nokia Product Manager WRT Tools

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    45

    Cool Re: Public Beta: Nokia WRT Plug-in for Aptana Studio

    First problems I found:

    - The CSS editor still shows a black rectangle for me before I click the Firefox Preview tab (Aptana bug?)
    - The WRT Widget (S60) view loses the soft key buttons if I change the display from portrait to landscape

    Also it wasn't nice that I had to completely uninstall and reinstall Aptana to get the new WRT version to install. And it isn't nice that soon there might be several Eclipse installations on my HD just because Carbide.c++ requires one, WRT requires one etc :P
    Your friendly neighborhood Symbiatch

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    17

    Re: Public Beta: Nokia WRT Plug-in for Aptana Studio

    Quote Originally Posted by feenix View Post
    - The CSS editor still shows a black rectangle for me before I click the Firefox Preview tab (Aptana bug?)
    Can you clarify this? perhaps provide a screenshot? The WRT preview function labled, "WRT Widget (S60)" only works on the HTML files. You can't preview within CSS.

    Quote Originally Posted by feenix View Post
    - The WRT Widget (S60) view loses the soft key buttons if I change the display from portrait to landscape
    Good feedback. Thanks.

    Quote Originally Posted by feenix View Post
    Also it wasn't nice that I had to completely uninstall and reinstall Aptana to get the new WRT version to install. And it isn't nice that soon there might be several Eclipse installations on my HD just because Carbide.c++ requires one, WRT requires one etc :P
    It is possible to download Aptana as an Eclipse plug-in and then you can install the WRT plug-in for Atana. See the Aptana download page.

    --
    Michael Bierman
    Nokia, Sr. Product Manager WRT Tools
    Last edited by mbierman; 2008-12-19 at 07:58.

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    48

    Re: Public Beta: Nokia WRT Plug-in for Aptana Studio

    I don't quite remember now, but I think earlier the widget would pop a dialog to connect to an access point (Winsock) when it needed to access external data. This release doesn't seem to have it. I think it is great to have a real life emulation while accessing data.

    I'm testing on real life projects and will keep writing regular feedback, but just wanted to say....this plugin is awesome in every way....it has made development and testing of widgets so much easier.

    Cheers,
    Mariam
    Mariam Dholkawala
    http://www.igamestudio.com

    Blog - http://www.mariamdholkawala.com/mobile
    MaD UG - http://www.indimadgroup.com

  7. #7
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    17

    Re: Public Beta: Nokia WRT Plug-in for Aptana Studio

    Quote Originally Posted by mariamDh View Post
    I don't quite remember now, but I think earlier the widget would pop a dialog to connect to an access point (Winsock) when it needed to access external data. This release doesn't seem to have it. I think it is great to have a real life emulation while accessing data.
    I don't recall the plug-in doing that itself. Perhaps you were deploying the widget to an Emulator? One of the areas we are looking at is augmenting simulation in many ways including support for 1.1 widget APIs. I can't provide any dates at this time, but it definitely on the todo list. If you have specific things you'd like to see in terms of simulation for development, feel free to post a wishlist.

    Quote Originally Posted by mariamDh View Post
    I'm testing on real life projects and will keep writing regular feedback, but just wanted to say....this plugin is awesome in every way....it has made development and testing of widgets so much easier.
    Music to our ears, Miriam! Please tell your friends and colleagues to try it out too! (Nice blog, by the way!)

    Cheers!

    --
    Michael Bierman
    Nokia, Sr. Product Manager WRT Tools

Similar Threads

  1. MIDP applicatyion accessing a servlet not working in series 60 emulator
    By ferozekadamapuzha in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2008-05-07, 18:04
  2. EXPORT error when doing armi build HELP!
    By al3ph in forum Symbian
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2002-12-09, 00:19

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×