Discussion Board

Super Contributor

Question does Qt is advanced than the Python ?

I have used Python .
    Now I want to work with Qt .
    Does Qt is easy to learn compared to Python ?

Re: does Qt is advanced than the Python ?

No, Qt isn't as easy to learn as python, but not a lot harder. However, you need to learn C++ as well as Qt so it will take a while to become really productive.

Mark

I started learning python ,cuz i got mega-ideas and just need to quickly build them out by myself than get a commercial-developer to do it. But how 'extensive' is Qt compared to PyS60 ; generally, library , and api wise ??

Nokia Developer Champion

Quote Originally Posted by rahulvala View Post
    I have used Python .
    I think Qt is harder to learn as compare to python but easier if you compare with the symbian c++.
    Jajal Mehul

Regular Contributor

I'd say that from a solid C++ background to master Symbian C++ it takes approx 2 years. To master Qt it takes ~6 months.

What it comes to selecting between Python and Qt it of course goes case by case depending on what you want to do and what platforms are you targeting but generally I'd choose Qt due to it's cross-platform promise and pretty extensive API set. And as it's not a runtime there are no efficiency issues.

Cheers,
    Jack

Nokia Developer Expert

Quote Originally Posted by rahulvala View Post
    I have used Python .
    Do you know about PyQt? By the time S60 Qt development is mainstream, I'd expect PyQt for S60 to be around as well.

Regular Contributor

There are some plans around this are but can't share unfortunately any details. But wouldn't hold my breath while waiting for PyQt.

Cheers,
    Jack

There's nothing to stop someone porting PyQt4 themselves against the latest PyS60 release though!

Mark

Super Contributor

Quote Originally Posted by Sorcery-ltd View Post
    There's nothing to stop someone porting PyQt4 themselves against the latest PyS60 release though!