Discussion Board

Performance Investigator

Hi!

Can anyone tell me how to use performance investigator tool by using the Emulator ?

I have read different articles but all of them explain that first i should install the profiler to the S60 device.

I wan to install it into emulator but couln not be able to do so.

Being a new developer, I dont know how to install the profiler .sisx file to the emulator.

Can anyone please help me in this regard ?

Nokia Developer Expert

Re: Performance Investigator

If they onlt have installation files for the device, then it can only be used in a real device. anyway, running it in a emulator propably would not give too accurate data, so it is better to be done in real device.

currently, I dont have any device to test my application.

therefore i can't generate the .dat profiler file.

Do you have any .dat sample profiler file for a simple application like helloworld which i can use to test the performance.

I just wana have an idea that how it works.

Nokia Developer Expert

don't really have anything for it, anyway, did you read the white paper Wiki has link to: http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...e_Investigator

Yes I do have read this paper as well as the help provided by carbide.

But the problem is that both of them say to transfer the profiler .sisx file to the devise by using USB or anything else but its related to transfer to the device.

I dont wana check the device. I wana check my application by using the emulator ?

Isnt it any possible way that I can make an application, add it to emultor. And then somehow add the profiler .sis file too in to the emulator and then generate the .dat file to do the analysis ?

In short is there any way to do the performance analysis by using emulator, not the device ?

Nokia Developer Moderator