Discussion Board

How to read remote device directories' names (using socket)

Hello,

I am pretty new to Symbian and I would highly appreciate if you guys could get me out of this. I have been doing a bit of research but don't know how to start it.

I have an application on two different devices (same application) and the basic idea is that I want to see directory names of device A on device B on lets say in C drive or file list in hard coded folder 'foo' which is in 'c\data\foo'. The socket part is done already i.e. the socket is established between the two devices. The thing that I have understood so far is that I have to use Serialization and DeSerialization i.e. ExternalizeL() and InternalizeL(). But I have no idea how should I start with it. A push or pointer (or more) would be highly appreciated in getting me out of this.

I went throught this http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...d.php?t=101769 and other posts but I don't know how much does it help my case.

And Would I need to Build and Parse a message containing the data or Externalize and Internalize will do that for me?

Thanks.

Garry
    Last edited by garrygar; 2009-01-14 at 16:33.

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: How to read remote device directories' names (using socket)

Since the combined length of - say - filenames in a directory can vary a lot, serialization is a good idea.
    On the sender side you could make use of an RBufWriteStream with a CBufFlat. After serialization, you know the length, that is what you should send to the receiver side first:
    Code:
    CBufFlat *buf=CBufFlat::NewL(10);
    CleanupStack::PushL(buf);
    RBufWriteStream stream;
    stream.Open(*buf);
    stream.PushL();
    // serialize your data here
    stream.CommitL();
    CleanupStack::PopAndDestroy(); // stream

TPckgBuf<TInt> size; // TPckgBuf is a 8-bit descriptor, containing an instance of the type specified as the template argument