×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    119

    Build on S60 3rd MR SDK - run on S60 5th emulator

    Hello,

    I am designing an application which should be versatile and run correctly on all S60 3rd and above devices. I've found myself without a S60 5th edition device for a couple of days and I've got a question: is it possible to build an application with certain SDK and test it on the emulator from other SDK? To be precise, the ones mentioned in the topic.

    Cheers,
    Maciej

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,355

    Re: Build on S60 3rd MR SDK - run on S60 5th emulator

    Yes, you can do that but is it really needed?
    a) You can user the Remote Device Access service to test your application on a real device (for free), or
    b) You can rebuild the application with the S60 5th Edition SDK and then run it in the corresponding emulator

    But if you really want to do it as you described then all you have to do is build the application with S60 3rd Edition MR SDK then build a SIS file containing WINSCW binaries. Sign it (e.g. self-signed) then start the S60 5th Edition emulator and install the application there (File->Open will let you quickly open the .sis file)
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    119

    Re: Build on S60 3rd MR SDK - run on S60 5th emulator

    Thanks ltomuta for a quick answer. I'll take a look at the RDA service.

    The procedure I described is important - the application will be compiled with the first available SDK and must behave in the same way on all further devices. That's why it must be tested on different platforms.

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,355

    Re: Build on S60 3rd MR SDK - run on S60 5th emulator

    Indeed, testing is important, more so if you use APIs which are not part of the public SDK offering ( e.g. @publishedPartner Symbian APIs or APIs from the SDK API Plug-in). However, in this cases testing is recommended (some times only possible) on the real hardware.

    Anyhow, emulator testing is possible, as described above. Good luck!
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    39

    Re: Build on S60 3rd MR SDK - run on S60 5th emulator

    from where do I get sdk for s60 3rd edition MR ? and hoew to use it then for app development

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    28,572

    Re: Build on S60 3rd MR SDK - run on S60 5th emulator

    Based on your other posts I thought you already had it.
    Resources above, Tools and Downloads, Tools archive (bottom of the page), S60 Platform SDKs for Symbian OS, for C++, and there you will find the old SDK-s.

Similar Threads

  1. S60 3rd FP2 SDK emulator
    By Skygyl in forum Tools and SDK Feedback (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-08-06, 08:15
  2. Experiences with J2ME, Netbeans, Eclipse and S60 3rd emulator
    By neil.young in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-02-14, 16:14
  3. Can Nokia connectivity Framwork work with S60 3rd FP2 SDK?
    By luckyapplehead in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-12-18, 12:52
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-10-12, 20:04
  5. run console app on s60 3rd emulator
    By xcompass in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-03-09, 09:41

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •