Discussion Board

themes: s60 3rd edition vs s60 3rd edition featured pack 2

hi all,

please can any one tell me if i can install the same theme (.sis) on 2 mobiles that has different OS featured pack (for ex:s60 3rd edition vs s60 3rd edition featured pack 2).

or differnet edition for example: s60 3rd edition and s60 5th edition

finally can any one tell me why there is no edition 4?

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: themes: s60 3rd edition vs s60 3rd edition featured pack 2

Yes, you can although I'm not sure that you should. It all depends on how well the theme was designed. As for the S60 4th Edition missing, well ... it's missing.
    -- Lucian

If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

so a good designed theme could be installed on a handset having s60 1st edition as well as one having s60 5th edition?

I am not a themes designer but I believe such thing is possible athhough not optimal.

I'm moving this thread to the relevant forum so that themes designers can comment.
    -- Lucian

If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

i just created a theme for the 3rd edition. it worked on 3rd and 5th, but not the 1st and 5th, i m just confused how themes installation works.

I don't think that there would be a problem with the installation itself, all it does is to unpack some files to the designated locations. Can you describe what/how it did not work?

As for the theme not working on S60 1st Edition (do you still have one of those devices?) that is correct, in fact in that case it is the installation that fails to begin with since the internal format of the SIS file is different and the older phones (prior to S60 3rd Edition) cannot handle the new format.
    -- Lucian

ok so i assume (after test) the 3rd and 5th edition work toghether and 1st and 2nd work together.