×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2

    Network access issues

    I'm exploring using Flash Lite 3.0 on an E71. When I try to read an xml file off device, I get the prompt that Flash wants to access the network. I confirm this request. I am then given a list of options (AT&T Internet, AT&T MEdia Net, AT&T MMS, my own WLAN). I have tried all four choices. No matter which one I choose, I am returned to the home screen.

    The FLA is published with Allow Network Access on, and functions fine in a desktop player. A crossdomain.xml file is in place.

    Thoughts?

    Chris Griffith

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Re: Network access issues

    Hi Chris,

    I didn't understand what do you mean by 'Home Screen'. Is it the home screen of your flashlite app or screen of mobile from where you can launch flashlite app?
    You can try out one thing : Place your swf file in specific folder i.e.c:/Data/Other/Trusted

    Actualy i am also struggling with same kind of problem.I am using E71. When my flashlite app tries to connect to a server I get a prompt for selecting access point. As soon as I select any of the access points available my app dies silently without showing any error and I am taken back to the screen from where I launched my app. i.e. c:/Data/Other/Trusted.

    BTW I have published my app in flashlite 2 player. As there are security probs in FL3 I had to put my swf in 'c:/Data/Other/Trusted' folder.I have tested my app on other FL3 enabled phones ( N85,N81) and it works fine. I dont understand why it is not working in E71.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: Network access issues

    The home screen of the phone. I launch the Flash Player from a shortcut from the home screen. I did try placing it in a Trusted folder with no luck as well. I am going to try wrapping it in a SIS just for fun as well as publishing for FL2 since the app doesn't use any FL3 features.

    Maybe something will help us out after MWC....

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    1,065

    Smile Re: Network access issues

    Quote Originally Posted by chriswgriffith View Post
    The home screen of the phone. I launch the Flash Player from a shortcut from the home screen. I did try placing it in a Trusted folder with no luck as well. I am going to try wrapping it in a SIS just for fun as well as publishing for FL2 since the app doesn't use any FL3 features.

    Maybe something will help us out after MWC....
    According to my vision , u have to show us the Source code or simply the actionscript u r using to access the XML and retrieving data. Hope i will able to help u after that...


    Best Regards,

    SajiSoft

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    12

    Re: Network access issues

    the security model has changed in Flash Lite 3, although it`s still a bit fuzzy, in theory it will be fixed:
    http://www.flashdevices.net/2008/05/...esolution.html

    the good news is that for selected S60 devices applications packaged with the Flash Lite Distributable player will be in the trusted sandbox, meaning full access with no annoying workarounds:
    http://flashmobileblog.com/2009/01/2...utable-player/

  6. #6
    Product Specialist
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    191

    Re: Network access issues

    Hi Chris,

    The E71 has a bug in the firmware that causes Flash to crash in this manner. It was also true of the N95 8GB device and is caused by a missing language string.

    Hopefully Nokia can get this fixed via the firmware updater, however for Standalone applications why not try out the Distributable Player?

    (Admittedly though we haven't enabled support for E71 devices over-the-air just yet)

    www.adobe.com/go/distribute

    Mark
    Mobile Evangelist - Adobe
    Mark Doherty
    Developer Evangelist
    Adobe Systems, Mobile and Devices EMEA

Similar Threads

  1. How can I access my local area network through Nokia N95
    By portalcoe in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-09-15, 13:05
  2. Set Access Network as "always allowed"
    By dnl21 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-08-23, 07:50
  3. Can't access the network through MIDlets
    By amihaic in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-04-01, 18:54
  4. Mobile Internet Toolkit 3.1 localhost access issues
    By jowsaki in forum Browsing and Mark-ups
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-08-14, 07:29
  5. Mobile Internet Toolkit 3.1 localhost access issues
    By jowsaki in forum General Messaging
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2002-08-14, 05:39

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×