Discussion Board

Hybrid View

will Publish allow for ebooks?

I'm a translator. I'm publishing my own translations in mobipocket format because Amazon allows me to publish my ebooks on their site.

As a test, I made a collection of ebooks that I uploaded to MOSH (traskila59's collection). One of the books is a Finnish cooking book originally published in 1919. It has now been downloaded over six hundred times - which in Finland is rather well for a cooking book ninety years old.

My question: will Ovi allow me to publish my books on Publish.Ovi - some of which will be free, some for fee.

best,

Jussi

Nokia Developer Expert

Re: will Publish allow for ebooks?

Hi Jussi - thanks for your question about ebook support. Let me ask the Ovi team and get back to you here in this thread.

Best,
    [B]Bill Perry[/B]
    Sr. Services Marketing Manager, Forum Nokia
    Publishing to Ovi Store: [url]http://publish.ovi.com/[/url]
    twitter: [url]www.twitter.com/bperry[/url]
    blog: [url]www.mobileperry.com[/url]

Is this question going to be answered?

Quote Originally Posted by themetesting View Post
    Is this question going to be answered?
    I'd also like to know the answer to this question.

Thanks.

Nokia Developer Moderator

Some details are missing here, like the format in which these books are distributed and how likely it is that the format is supported on customer's devices.

On Mosh I've found one such book as "The_Prussian_Officer.prc". I'm not familiar with the format and I'm almost sure that my phone is not familiar with it either. So, what are you really selling me is a blob of data which once downloaded shows the nice "Feature not supported" message.

You seem to be happy with the 664 downloads for one book, but how many of those downloads could really be read?