×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    269

    AutoStart not working

    Hi all,

    I have created a sis file which will auto start my application. I have created both the sis files as one package file. It is working fine if i install it in the C drive, means phone memory but it is not working if i install it in the memory card. My pkg files are like this

    My application pkg:

    "$(EPOCROOT)epoc32\release\$(PLATFORM)\$(TARGET)\Applc.app" -"!:\system\apps\Applc\Applc.app"
    "$(EPOCROOT)epoc32\data\z\system\apps\Applc\Applc.r01" -"!:\system\apps\Applc\Applc.r01"
    "$(EPOCROOT)epoc32\data\z\system\apps\Applc\Applc_caption.r01" -"!:\system\apps\Applc\Applc_caption.r01"
    "$(EPOCROOT)epoc32\data\z\system\apps\Applc\Applc.aif" -"!:\system\apps\Applc\Applc.aif"
    "$(EPOCROOT)epoc32\data\z\system\apps\Applc\Applc.mbm" -"!:\system\apps\Applc\Applc.mbm"

    My Auto start pkg:

    "C:\Symbian\7.0s\Series60_v21_CW\Epoc32\release\$(PLATFORM)\$(TARGET)\ApplcAutoStart.MDL" -"C:\system\recogs\ApplcAutoStart.mdl"

    And in the auto start .cpp file i am searching the application from the path

    \\system\\apps\\Applc\\Applc.app

    So can anyone tell me why the applcation is not auto starting if i install it in the memory card? Or i have to install it in the phone memory for autostart.

    Regards,
    Santu

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: AutoStart not working

    The application starting is the last of a chain of events and operation that occur after you boot the phone. Have you confirmed that everything else works to that point?
    • Is your recognizer being loaded?
    • Does it wait enough time for the boot sequence to complete before continuing?
    • Does it find your application installed?
    • Does the application launch succeed?
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    269

    Re: AutoStart not working

    Hi,
    I have changed the installing path directly to C drive that means to phone memory. I am not giving any option to the user to select the memory where he/she want to install.
    I want to know for commercial release of my application will this thing give any problem for getting certification?

    And one more thing the Auto is not working for 3rd edition FP1. But the same code work for 3rd edition FP2. Can i know what may be the cause?

    Regards,
    Santu

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    216

    Re: AutoStart not working


  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    269

    Re: AutoStart not working

    Hi rokroff,

    That is an application. But i am doing an application which will auto start when the phone start without using such type of application. I have done that using CApaDataRecognizerType. Can anyone tell me what is the problem with 3rd edition FP1.

    Regards,
    Santu

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    3,644

    Re: AutoStart not working

    See http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...ded_at_startup

    For 3rd edition you MUST use the startup API as this is a requirement of Symbian signed.
    Download Symbian OS now! [url]http://developer.symbian.org[/url]

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    269

    Smile Re: AutoStart not working

    Hi Paul,

    Thanks a lot. Its working now for 3rd edition FP1 also using startup API as you told.

    Regards,
    Santu

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    281

    Re: AutoStart not working

    Quote Originally Posted by santu.paul@gmail.com View Post
    Hi Paul,

    Thanks a lot. Its working now for 3rd edition FP1 also using startup API as you told.

    Regards,
    Santu
    Auto start sample code is not working in C7 and N8 but some times its work on Nokia X6

    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...Qt_for_Symbian

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,673

    Re: AutoStart not working

    If it is a GUI application, there seems to be a race condition with the Nokia splash screen. I have generated a new GUI project, added the 3 modifications described in #39 of http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...ation-Signing!, and Open Signed Online it for my N8.
    If I wait for the spalsh screen to play after entering PIN and lock codes, the application does not start.
    If I skip the splash screen, the application starts up a few seconds after the Idle screen appears.
    Qt may bring additional complications too, that part you should discussed in the Qt boards.

Similar Threads

  1. CAknMessageQueryDialog not working on the Target E61
    By symbians60 in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-04-23, 20:15
  2. Working on GSM, Not working on CDMA
    By aminuddin09 in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-03-21, 07:07
  3. Program suddenly not working - doesn't recognise hardware
    By luciadoll in forum Bluetooth Technology
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-12-10, 01:54
  4. How to get CarbideVS and SDK 3.0 working good?
    By fwojtek in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-10-02, 08:15

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×